Senator Barbara Anne Washington

District 09 – Part of Jackson County

View District Map (Google Maps)
View District Map (PDF)

Senator Barbara Anne Washington, a Democrat, represents the 9th Senatorial District in the Missouri Senate. She was sworn into office on Jan. 6, 2021. Prior to being elected to the Senate, she served the residents of Jackson County in the House of Representatives for three years.

Senator Washington proudly supports increased economic development in her district – including preserving the notable “18th & Vine” district, increased funding for educational opportunities and universal health care for all. In her district, she regularly presents programs designed to bring attention to the importance of small business development, juvenile justice reform, minority mental health awareness, crime reduction and environmental preservation.

When she’s not advocating for her district, Sen. Washington volunteers with her beloved sorority, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. She is a member of the St. James United Methodist Church, the Metropolitan Community Colleges Board of Trustees, Urban Summit, Freedom, Inc., the Kansas City Boys/Girls Choir and the United Nations Association of Greater Kansas City.

In addition to her legislative duties, Sen. Washington is a practicing attorney who also possesses an MBA. She is a proud graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia’s famed School of Journalism. She obtained her Master of Business Administration from Avila University and her Juris Doctorate from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Senator Washington is a lifelong Kansas City, Missouri, resident. She has one daughter and two grandsons.

Legislative Service:
Elected to the Senate: 2020
House of Representatives: 2017 – 2020

Committee Membership:
Agriculture, Food Production and Outdoor Resources
Health and Pensions
Professional Registration
Small Business and Industry
Joint Committee on Administrative Rules
Joint Committee on Court Automation
Joint Committee on the Justice System
Joint Committee on Legislative Research
Joint Committee on Legislative Research – Oversight Subcommittee
Interim Committee on Illegal Immigration
Select Committee on Redistricting
Missouri Consolidated Health Care Plan – Board of Trustees
Missouri Food Security Task Force