Sen. Bill Eigel Congratulates Local Winner of 2019 Teacher of the Year Award

Eigel-press release (2)

JEFFERSON CITY — State Sen. Bill Eigel, R-Weldon Spring, would like to congratulate a local St. Charles resident on her selection as Missouri’s 2019 Teacher of the Year.

Shelly Parks, an English teacher at Francis Howell North High School, was one of seven Missouri educators selected as finalists for the award. She and the other finalists will be honored at a banquet in Jefferson City on Monday, Oct. 22.

Mrs. Parks is the 50th recipient of Missouri’s Teacher of the Year award, and the second to be chosen from the Francis Howell School District since the program started in 1957.

“There are few things as important in a child’s life as the quality of their education,” Sen. Eigel said. “I am excited and thrilled for Shelly on receiving this enormous honor.”

The Missouri Teacher of the Year is selected by the state Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Finalists for the position met with a panel of teachers, business professionals and leaders of educational organizations as part of the selection process.

As Missouri Teacher of the Year, Shelly Parks will be the state of Missouri’s official nominee for the 2019 National Teacher of the Year award.