Senator Dan Brown’s Legislative Column






Earlier this week, several new laws went into effect in Missouri. These laws range from changes in work place discrimination the new Blue Alert and Real ID.

In Missouri, terminated employees now have to prove discrimination as the main reason they were fired, not just one of many reasons. The passage of this legislation will help cut down on frivolous lawsuits that cost thousands of dollars and clog up the court system. It will also stop workers from suing their colleagues and limit damages that could be awarded in such lawsuits.

There is also a law now in effect that bans local governments from setting a minimum wage higher that the state’s minimum wage. Currently, this mainly affects residents in the St. Louis region where the minimum wage was $10 until Monday when it was lowered to the state’s current minimum wage, which is $7.70 an hour.

Missouri is now the 29th state with a Blue Alert. The Blue Alert is a statewide alert that will be issued in the event of a member of law enforcement being shot or killed. The alert works much like the Amber Alert does and will allow citizens to be on the lookout for the perpetrator.

One of the most talked about pieces of legislation in years is the Real ID law. Now the Department of Revenue is required to issue driver’s license that are complaint with the federal Real ID law. Compliance is mandatory. The law will also let residents choose whether they want a REAL ID for access to military bases and federal facilities. The state’s system is expected to be up and running in a one year.

The Missouri Legislature passed a ban on project labor agreements for public construction projects for things like fire stations, schools and court houses. The new law will also cut state funding to Missouri cities and counties that force non-union contractors to pay workers union wages for those jobs.

Another new law establishes the crime of “illegal reentry” for anyone who returns to Missouri after being deported, and subsequently commits an assault or felony. The crime carries a penalty of up to seven years in prison.

The Senate will gather again in Jefferson City for veto session on Sept. 13.

As always, I encourage my constituents to contact me throughout the year with comments, questions or suggestions by calling my office at (573) 751-5713. To find more information about the bills I sponsored, visit Thank you for reading this and for your participation in state government.