Senator Maria Chappelle-Nadal


This information is for 2017. Click here to view current information.

Minority Caucus Whip – Democrat
District 14 – Part of St. Louis County
View District Map (Google Maps)
View District Map (PDF)

Senator Maria Chappelle-Nadal, a Democrat, represents part of St. Louis County in the Missouri Senate. She was elected in 2010.

Senator Chappelle-Nadal previously worked for Lt. Governor Joe Maxwell in 2000, as Director of Communications. Sen. Chappelle-Nadal later chose to serve as Missouri’s Senior Advocate. There she successfully helped shepherd legislation such as the Senior Care and Protection Act of 2003 and the Missouri Senior Rx Generic Drug Rebate.

In addition to her legislative duties, Sen. Chappelle-Nadal is a director on the University City School Board. Her memberships include: NOBEL/Women, the National Foundation of Women Legislators, the National Hispanic Council of State Legislators, and the Missouri Legislative Black Caucus. Sen. Chappelle-Nadal is a former member of the Democratic National Committee, serving from 2005 – 2009. She also served three terms in the Missouri House of Representatives, from 2004-2010.

Awards received: MO Alzheimer’s Association Outstanding Leadership Award (2010), St. Louis Hispanic Leaders Group Esperanza Award (2008), Missouri Association for Social Welfare Legislative Award (2008), and the St. Louis Freedom of Choice Award (2006).

Senator Chappelle-Nadal received a dual degree in Political Science and Sociology from Georgia State University in Atlanta, Georgia. In 2002, Sen. Chappelle-Nadal was one of sixteen national fellows chosen by the National Organization for Black Elected Legislative/Women and the Center for American Women in Politics (CAWP) at Rutgers University. She is a former participant of the Sue Shear Institute for Women in Public Life (2004) and the Neighborhood Leadership Academy (2002) at the University of Missouri-St. Louis.

Born on October 3rd, to Cecilia A. Nadal and Alonzo Chappelle, Sen. Chappelle-Nadal is a University City native.

Legislative Service:
Elected to the Senate: 2010, 2014
House of Representatives: 2004 – 2010

Committee Membership: