Senator Cindy O’Laughlin

District 18 – Adair, Chariton, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Macon, Marion, Pike, Ralls, Randolph, Schuyler, Scotland, and Shelby
View District Map (Google Maps)
View District Map (PDF)

Senator Cindy O’Laughlin was sworn into office on Jan. 9, 2019, to serve the residents of Northeast Missouri’s 18th Senatorial District.

In addition to her public service, Sen. O’Laughlin has served as vice president of Leo O’Laughlin, Inc., for the past 26 years. The senator and her husband own and operate a trucking company and ready mix concrete business with locations in Shelbina, Macon, Marceline and LaBelle.

Prior to being elected to the Missouri Senate, Sen. O’Laughlin served as a school bus driver, an administrator at a local Christian school and as a member of her local school board. Now, Sen. O’Laughlin serves as the chair of the Senate Education Committee and works to improve education outcomes for all of Missouri’s children, regardless of where they live.

Senator O’Laughlin has been a member of various civic organizations, such as the Shelby County Chamber of Commerce & Industry and the Shelby County Economic Development Board. She has also served on numerous statewide boards, such as the Associated Builders and Contractors and the Missouri Club for Growth. Senator O’Laughlin is currently a member of the National Rifle Association, Missouri Cattlemen, the Missouri Farm Bureau and Macon First Baptist Church.

Senator O’Laughlin grew up on a farm and spent much of her childhood around horses, livestock auctions and corn fields. Today, she’s the proud owner of several dogs, including Basset Hounds, as well as several rescues dogs.

A current resident of Shelbina, Sen. O’Laughlin has four sons, a foster daughter and six grandchildren. She is a 1978 graduate of the University of Missouri.

Legislative Service:
Elected to the Senate: 2018

Committee Membership:
Agriculture, Food Production, and Outdoor Resources
Education, Chairwoman
Seniors, Families, Veterans and Military Affairs
Transportation, Infrastructure & Public Safety
Ways and Means
Joint Committee on Education, Chairwoman
Joint Committee on Government Accountability
Joint Committee on Transportation Oversight
Interim Commitee on Education, Vice-Chairwoman
Competency-based Education Task Force
Task Force on Fair, Nondiscriminatory Local Taxation Concerning Solar Energy Systems
Education Commission of the States