Senator Sandy Crawford Elected Vice-Chair of CSG South Agriculture and Rural Development Committee

Monday, January 23, 2023

Jefferson City — State Sen. Sandy Crawford, R-Buffalo, has been unanimously elected vice-chair of the Agriculture and Rural Development Committee for the Council of State Governments Southern Office (CSG South) by members of the committee.


The CSG South Agriculture and Rural Development Committee is comprised of state legislators and legislative staff from the 15 CSG South member states. Recent policy and program issues addressed by the committee include the current state of agriculture, farm labor shortages, advances in agricultural technology, food insecurity, agricultural trade and the plight of small rural farmers.


“It is a true honor to be named to serve as vice-chair of the Agriculture and Rural Development Committee for the Council of State Governments’ southern office,” Sen. Crawford said. “Having raised cattle in rural Missouri for many decades, I look forward to serving with other states to help shape Missouri’s economic contribution to the agriculture industry.”


As vice chair of the CSG South Agriculture and Rural Development Committee, Sen. Crawford will assist the committee’s chair in guiding the committee’s policy focus and projects, including programming for the 77th Annual Southern Legislative Conference in Charleston, SC.


Senator Crawford represents the 28th Senatorial District, which is comprised of Benton, Cedar, Dallas, Henry, Hickory, Pettis, Polk, St. Clair and Vernon counties. She also serves as Missouri Senate majority caucus secretary. Senator Crawford was elected to the Missouri Senate in August 2017. Previously, she served in the Missouri House of Representatives from 2010 – 2017. Prior to becoming a state representative, Sen. Crawford enjoyed a 30-year banking career at O’Bannon Bank in Buffalo.


To learn more about Sen. Crawford and her legislation, please visit