Senator Ed Emery


Note: This information is for 2017. Click here to view current information.

District 31 – Barton, Bates, Cass, Henry and Vernon
View District Map (Google Maps)
View District Map (PDF)

Senator Ed Emery, a Republican, represents the 31st District comprising Barton, Bates, Cass, Henry and Vernon counties. He previously served four terms (2003-2010) in the Missouri House representing the former 126th District, which was composed of Barton and Dade counties and portions of Jasper and Polk counties.

Senator Emery served on several House committees including Children and Families, Job Creation and Tax Reform. He also chaired the House Utilities Committee and the Special Committee on Immigration Reform.

Senator Emery is a native of Vernon County, Mo., where he worked with his father and grandfather in their feed and grain business. He graduated from The University of Missouri-Rolla with a degree in engineering and worked in the oil and gas industry until returning to Missouri in 1994. Senator Emery and his wife, Rebecca, reside in Lamar, Mo. They have four children, Elizabeth, Samuel, Daniel and Paul, and one grandchild.

Senator Emery is a member of Lamar First Baptist Church, Missouri Farm Bureau, National Rifle Association, Gun Owners of America, VFW Men’s Auxiliary, Barton County Excel, Greenfield Chamber of Commerce, and the Air Force Academy Association of Graduates. He also served as executive director of Missouri Fair Tax.

Awards and Honors presented to Senator Emery while serving in the House include:

2010 Legislator of the year — Missouri Republican Assembly

2009 William Wilberforce Award — Concerned Women for America, Missouri Chapter

2008 Legislator of the year — Missouri Cable Telecommunications Association

2008 Legislator of the year — Missouri Energy Development Association

2008 Leadership award — Missouri Telecommunications Industry Association

2006 Legislator of the year —American Legislative Exchange Council

Legislative Service:
Elected to the Senate: 2012, 2016

Committee Membership:
Commerce, Consumer Protection, Energy & the Environment, Vice-Chairman
Government Reform, Chairman
Guberational Appointments
Judiciary and Civil and Criminal Jurisprudence
Seniors, Families and Children
Joint Committee on Government Accountability
Senate Interim Committee on Utility Regulation and Infrastructure Investment, Chairman
Administrative Law Judge Review Committee
Senate Interim Committee on Tax Administration Practices