Senator David Pearce represents District 21 in the Missouri Senate, which covers Caldwell, Carroll, Howard, Johnson, Lafayette, Livingston, Ray and Saline counties. Due to redistricting, he was elected to serve the 21st district in 2012, after serving a previous term in the Missouri Senate representing District 31. He previously served 6 years in the Missouri House of Representatives (2003-2008).

Senator Pearce serves as chairman of the Senate Education Committee, and serves on both the Appropriations and Agriculture, Food Production and Outdoor Resources committees. In addition to his legislative committees, he is the 2016 Chairman of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact, and a commissioner for the Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission. He previously served as a member of the Missouri Veterans Commission (2009-2014) and the Missouri Military Preparedness and Enhancement Commission. (2005-2008).

In recognition of his legislative service, Sen. Pearce has received several awards, including the James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award by the University of Central Missouri, Farm Bureau’s Friend of Agriculture award, Representative of the Year by the Missouri Association of Veterans Organizations (MAVO), 2012 Henry Geyer Award by the Mizzou Alumni Association, Horace Mann Award by the Missouri National Education Association and the Gordon Warren Land-Grant Award from the University of Missouri Extension.

Senator Pearce is a graduate of Warrensburg High School and attended the University of Central Missouri. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in agricultural journalism from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Senator Pearce currently resides in rural Warrensburg with his wife, Teresa. They have two children.