Senator Ryan Silvey was sworn into office Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2013 to represent the 17th Senatorial District. The 17th District is located in the Southwest corner of Clay County, and includes parts of Kansas City, Gladstone, Oaks, Oakwood, Oakwood Park, Oakview, Liberty, Glenaire, Pleasant Valley, Claycomo, North Kansas City, Avondale, Randolph and Birmingham.

Senator Silvey serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee for Governmental Accountability and Fiscal Oversight. He also serves on several other committees, including: Appropriations; General Laws; Progress and Development; and Veterans’ Affairs and Health.

As an 8th generation Missourian, Sen. Silvey was raised in Clay County, where he attended Meadowbrook Elementary, Antioch Middle and Oak Park High Schools. After graduating from college, Sen. Silvey became an advisor to U.S. Senator Christopher S. “Kit” Bond on issues such as Science, Technology, Space Policy and National Defense.

Before winning his election to a four-year term in the State Senate, Sen. Silvey served four terms in the Missouri House of Representatives, from 2005 through 2012. During that time he was Vice-Chairman of the Small Business Committee, Vice-Chairman of the Homeland Security Committee, Vice-Chairman of the Appropriations General Administration Committee, Chairman of the Appropriations General Administration Committee and Chairman of the Joint Committee on Capital Improvements and Leases Oversight.

In 2011, Sen. Silvey became Chairman of the important House Budget Committee, making him the youngest House Budget Chairman in the nation. Serving as Budget Chairman in 2011 and 2012, Sen. Silvey guided the state through the “Great Recession” by balancing Missouri’s budget without raising taxes. Under his leadership, Missouri remained one of just seven states to boast a AAA bond rating.

Senator Silvey resides in Kansas City with his wife, Angela, and their two daughters, Taylor Mansker, and Kally Silvey. They attend Fellowship of Grace Church where Ryan plays acoustic guitar in the music ministry.