SB 135 - Under current law, the state statutes regarding dry-cleaning facility environmental remediation, including payments into the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust Fund, expire on August 28, 2012. The act extends the expiration date to August 28, 2022.

By August 28, 2012, the Board of Trustees of the Petroleum Storage Tank Insurance Fund must hold at least one public hearing to determine if it should create an underground storage tank operator training program. In making its decision, the Board must consider: input from the Departments of Natural Resources and Agriculture, the Board's advisory committee, and relevant portions of the private sector; federal financial ramifications; and other training programs already in use.

If the Board decides that a training program is necessary, the act lists requirements for the program. The program must meet federal requirements, be developed in collaboration with certain entities, be offered at no cost to individuals who are required to attend, specify certain standards and documentation requirements, and be developed by rule. The Board may contract with third parties to provide the training. The Board may modify or eliminate the program by rule. Records for the program must be made readily available to the Department of Natural Resources.

State and local governments must disregard the manufacturer's expiration date on motor fuel measuring devices and dispensing equipment and only require the replacement of such equipment when they fail inspection.

Any motor fuel mandate or modification to the way motor fuel is measured or dispensed in a retail sale transaction must be specifically authorized by state statute before it may be modified in state regulation or before federal changes may be adopted by the state.

Only the Department of Natural Resources may set Stage 1 and Stage 2 motor fuel vapor recovery fees and such fees may not be modified by local governments or local enforcement agencies.

This act contains provisions similar to SB 1040 (2010) and SB 885 (2010).


Return to Main Bill Page