SB 454 - This act waives the waiting week that must be served before becoming eligible to receive unemployment insurance for unemployed workers who were employed in or a resident of the counties of Barry, Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Howell, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, and Wayne that were adversely affected by the winter storm in January of 2009. Workers shall have been employed in or been a resident of one of the aforementioned counties between January 26, 2009 and April 1, 2009 to be eligible for the waiver. The section, if enacted, shall expire April 1, 2009.


Return to Main Bill Page