SB 1073 Revises method in which the commissioners of the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority are appointed
LR Number:4638L.01I Fiscal Note:4638-01
Last Action:03/14/00 - Voted Do Pass S Transportation Committee Journal page:
Effective Date:August 28, 2000
Full Bill Text | All Actions | Available Summaries | Senate Home Page | List of 2000 Senate Bills
Current Bill Summary

SB 1073 - This act revises the method in which the Commissioners of the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority are appointed. If the current commissioner was appointed from Platte or Clay County, the County Commission shall submit a panel of three persons to the Kansas City mayor. The mayor will appoint one of those persons as a commissioner with the approval of the city council. If a position becomes vacant from Cass County, the presiding county commissioner shall appoint a successor from a panel of three residents from that county and one shall be selected by vote of the County Commission. If the vacancy to be filled is from Jackson County, the County Executive of Jackson County shall appoint a successor who is a resident of any city, town or village, other than Kansas City, that has appropriated funds for the operation of the authority in its current or preceding fiscal year. If the vacancy is from Kansas City, the mayor shall appoint a successor who is a resident of Kansas City.

The term of office for a commissioner is four years. No person shall serve more than two consecutive four-year terms. If the person was appointed to serve an unexpired term of a predecessor who had more than two and one-half years remaining on his or her term, then the person shall only serve one additional four-year term.