Senator David Sater


Note: This information is for 2017. Click here to view current information.

District 29 – Barry, Lawrence, McDonald, Stone, and Taney
View District Map (Google Maps)
View District Map (PDF)

Senator David Sater, a Republican, represents the 29th District which includes: Barry, Lawrence, McDonald, Stone and Taney counties. He previously served four terms (2004-2012) in the Missouri House representing the 68th District.

Senator Sater served on several House committees including Budget, Financial Institutions, Health Insurance, Appropriations – Health, Mental Health and Social Services (chairman) and Health Care Policy (chairman).

Senator Sater is a native of Barry County where he owned and operated Sater Pharmacy for almost thirty years. He is a 1972 graduate of the University Missouri – Kansas City School of Pharmacy and earned his BS in Biology/Chemistry from Missouri State University in Springfield. Senator Sater and his wife, Sharon, reside in Cassville, MO. They have two children, Joshua and Samantha.

Senator Sater is a member of First Baptist Church of Cassville, Cassville Chamber of Commerce, County Disabled Fund of Barry County Board of Directors, Habitat for Humanity, Missouri Pharmaceutical Association, Security Bank of Southwest Missouri Board of Directors. He has served as President of the American Cancer Society and has participated in two, three-week medical mission trips to Honduras to provide medical assistance. David and his wife, Sharon, are co-founders of the pro-life Pregnancy Resource Center in Aurora, MO.

Senator Sater was named Pharmacist of the Year in 1983 and in 2011 was the recipient of the UMKC School of Pharmacy Professional Pharmacy Alumni Service Award. David is a two-time recipient of the Missouri Farm Bureau Friend of Agriculture Award. Other awards include: Missouri Pharmacy Association Legislative Leadership Award, Public Health Award of the Missouri Association of Local Public Health Agencies, Missouri Ambulance Association Legislative Award, Missouri Dental Association Legislative Award, Missouri Cattlemen’s Association Legislator of the Year, Missouri Coalition of Children’s Agencies’ (MCCA) 2013 Champion for Children Award, County Commissioners Association of Missouri 2013 Legislative Award, Missouri Nurse’s Association 2013 Excellence in Health Care Legislation Award and Americans for Prosperity – Defender of Prosperity Award 2013.

Legislative Service:
Elected to the Senate: 2012, 2016
House of Representatives: 2004 – 2012

Committee Membership:
Fiscal Oversight
Health and Pensions
Local Government and Elections, Vice-Chairman
Seniors, Families and Children, Chairman
Joint Committee on the Justice System
Joint Committee on Public Assistance
Missouri Consolidated Health Care Plan Board of Trustees
Missouri Tourism Commission
Senate Interim Committee on Medicaid Transformation and Reform, Vice-Chairman