For Immediate Release:
Jan. 7, 2015
Missouri Senate Convenes for the First Regular Session of the 98th General Assembly
Upper Chamber Swears in New Members; Elects Senate Leader

JEFFERSON CITY—The Missouri Senate convened today at noon for the beginning of the 2015 legislative session. Friends, family and constituents from across the state watched as the upper chamber welcomed six new members. Newly elected and re-elected senators—17 total—took their official oath to “support the Constitution of the United States and of the state of Missouri, and faithfully perform the duties of my office.” Chief Justice Mary Russell of the Missouri Supreme Court administered the oath.

The newly elected class of the Missouri Senate includes Sen. Bob Onder, R-Lake St. Louis; Sen. Dan Hegeman, R-Cosby; Sen. Jeanie Riddle, R-Callaway County; Sen. Dave Schatz, R-Sullivan; Sen. Paul Wieland, R-Imperial; and Sen. Jill Schupp, D-Creve Couer.

Senator Joseph Keaveny, D-St. Louis; Sen. Mike Kehoe, R-Jefferson City; Sen. Will Kraus, R-Lee’s Summit; Sen. Maria Chappelle-Nadal, D-University City; Sen. Dan Brown, R-Rolla; Sen. Brian Munzlinger, R-Williamstown; Sen. Jay Wasson, R-Nixa; Sen. Mike Parson, R-Bolivar; Sen. Bob Dixon, R-Springfield; Sen. Ron Richard, R-Joplin; and Sen. Rob Schaaf, R-St. Joseph, make up the senators re-elected to the upper chamber.

In addition, senators today voted to re-elect Sen. Dempsey to serve as Senate President Pro Tem, the highest-ranking position in the Missouri Senate.  As Senate leader, Sen. Dempsey is responsible for managing procedural functions and ruling on parliamentary procedures. 

Senator Dempsey honored tradition by addressing his colleagues from the Senate dais and detailing the Senate’s agenda and legislative priorities for the 2015 session.  His speech highlighted ways in which the Legislature can strengthen Missouri’s business climate, harness emerging technology to create new job opportunities and invest in education, among other topics.

Before concluding the predominately ceremonial day, Senate bills previously filed before the start of the legislative session were introduced on the floor, a process also known as “first reading” of Senate bills.

To see a complete list of legislation filed for the 2015 session, read the Pro Tem’s entire speech or to learn more about the members of the upper chamber, visit