Legislative Column for June 17, 2015

JEFFERSON CITY - Did you know that one in 10 Missourians has unclaimed property? Are you, or someone you know owners of unclaimed property? While the average claim is valued at about $300, earlier this year the State Treasurer’s office returned $650,000 to one St. Louis area family. In the last several years alone more than $234 million has been returned to Missourians. There is more than $874 million in assets and belongings in the Treasurer’s office waiting to be claimed.

In Senate District 26, there is over $13.26 million in unclaimed property waiting for the right Missourian to claim it.

State law requires those responsible for processing financial transactions—individuals, businesses, nonprofits—to transfer unclaimed assets to the State Treasurer’s office after a defined period of time, generally five years. These abandoned bank accounts, uncollected insurance policies, uncashed checks and other assets are held by State Treasurer in perpetuity until the original owners or a proper heir is located. All unclaimed property is returned free of charge.

To see if you have any property to claim, check online in three simple steps:

  • Search the online unclaimed property database for your name at ShowMeMoney.com.;
  • If you find a match, select "File a Claim" and follow the easy steps to complete it; and finally
  • Receive your unclaimed property.

You may also sign up for email notifications and even donate your unclaimed property to any of 20 charitable groups.

Thank you for reading this weekly column. Please contact my office at (573) 751-3678 if you have any questions.