For Immediate Release:
Nov. 17, 2015
Contact: Matt Michelson
(573) 751-2272

Senator David Pearce Assumes Chair of Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Pictured are Missouri Senator David Pearce receiving the gavel from outgoing chair, Ms. Suzanne Morris, Illinois Board of Higher Education board member.

JEFFERSON CITY —Missouri Senator David Pearce assumed the position of commission chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) during the commission’s semi-annual meeting held in Chicago, on November 16-17. Senator Pearce was elected last fall and served a year term as vice chair (2014-15), and a term as the Compact’s treasurer (2013-14). One of four regional higher education compacts in the United States, MHEC is a nonprofit regional organization assisting its 12 member Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing.

Senator Pearce was initially appointed a MHEC commissioner in 2003 when he was a Missouri state representative; he was reappointed in 2010, and has since been reappointed in 2011, 2013, and 2015.

“The Midwestern Higher Education Compact is a highly esteemed organization, with which I am proud to have long been associated.  Accordingly, assuming the role of commission chair is a tremendous honor,” said Senator Pearce.  “I look forward to leading the Compact as it continues to provide greater higher education opportunities and services in the Midwestern region. Chief among our goals is to further regional access to, research in and choice of higher education for the citizens residing in the twelve states we serve. As I have seen first-hand how beneficial these programs have been in my district, I am excited to further expand our regional footprint.”

Missouri has been a member of the Compact since May 1990. Missouri higher education institutions, school districts, state and local governments, as well as students and families have saved over $82 million by using MHEC’s cost-saving programs and services, and its student exchange program since the compact’s foundation in 1991.

“Senator Pearce’s service on our Executive Committee and guidance as an officer these past two years, combined with his leadership as chairman of the Missouri Senate Education Committee, will be instrumental in serving MHEC’s many programs and initiatives,” said Larry Isaak, MHEC president.

In addition to Senator Pearce, current Missouri MHEC Commissioners are: Representative Allen Andrews; Dr. Kenneth W. Dobbins, former president of Southeast Missouri State University; Dr. John M. McGuire, leadership coach for Achieving the Dream; and Mr. Mark W. Smith, Associate Vice Chancellor and Director of Career Planning and Placement at Washington University in St. Louis. Dr. David R. Russell, commissioner of higher education for the Missouri Department of Higher Education, serves as a commissioner alternate.

The compact seeks to fulfill its interstate mission through programs that expand postsecondary opportunity and success; promote innovative approaches to improving institutional and system productivity; improve affordability to students and states; and enhance connectivity between higher education and the workplace. Member states are: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Media Contact:
Mary Roberson
MHEC Director of Communications and Marketing
(612) 677-2765