For Immediate Release:
Jan. 30, 2015
Contact: Matt Michelson
(573) 751-2272
Senator Pearce Co-Chairs Missouri River Caucus

JEFFERSON CITY— Senator David Pearce, R-Warrensburg, recently attended the first meeting of the Missouri River Caucus, where members from the Senate and House met to discuss the future of the Missouri River. Pearce Co-Chairs the Caucus with Senator Mike Kehoe, R-Jefferson City.

As federal regulatory agencies and states up-river make plans for the longest river in the United States, the General Assembly has taken steps to ensure Missouri’s rights. Although discussion has just begun, Sen. Pearce remarked, “It is important that state elected officials work to protect the Missouri River and forming this caucus is the first step to making that happen.”

In total, Sen. Pearce and Sen. Kehoe met with 15 representatives and the Missouri Department of Natural Resources to discuss the strategy needed to protect Missouri. Representatives Glen Kolkmeyer, R-Odessa; Dean Dohrman, R-La Monte; Dave Muntzel, R-Boonville; Joe Don McGaugh, R-Carrollton; and Chuck Basyse, R Rocheport, were among the representatives that attended the meeting within Sen. Pearce’s 21st Senatorial District.

Stretching 734 miles through Missouri, the river provides over 50 percent (roughly 3 million) of Missouri’s population with drinking water. The river also supports 18 hydro and nuclear power plants that provide thousands with electricity. The river has the potential to transport over 517,000 tons of freight annually. 

“Discussion over the river is something that must happen if we are going to continue to enjoy all the benefits and beauty the river has in store for Missourians,” Sen. Kehoe said. 

According to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, to be most effective, the caucus must work to create a complete understanding of Missouri’s water uses and needs, promote a reliable river and increased navigation, and be champions for the resource.

For more information on Sen. Pearce’s legislative efforts, visit his official Missouri Senate website at