For Immediate Release: Jan. 29, 2015
Senator Doug Libla Welcomes Visitors to the
Capitol in January

Glen Cantrell with SEMO Electric Cooperative visited the office to discuss issues relating to energy and utilities. I also met with Dr. Kameron Hunt, Dr. Dan Obermark, Dr. Cassidy Obermark, and Dr. Doug Nosacka from the Missouri Optometric Associations. It was also nice to see Drs. Wes and Maribeth Payne from Three Rivers College at the MO Community College Association legislative breakfast. I was also visited by Chris Hyten from Poplar Bluff and Jerry Dorton from Dexter. Jay Decker from Poplar Bluff also visited with the MO Society of Accountants legislative advocacy day.

It was both an honor and privilege to attend the celebration of Martin Luther King Jr. day at the Wheatley School Building in Poplar Bluff. The service was wonderful and well attended. Pictured below are the youth singers from the Mount Sinai CME and Pleasant Hill MBCH churches. The music was beautiful and the youth choirs did an excellent and impressive job!

Poplar Bluff native and good friend to many, Mr. Harold Robinson of St. Louis, was the guest speaker. His remarks about peace and freedom were well spoken, and I enjoyed listening to his message.

On Saturday, Jan. 24, I attended both the 77th Annual Poplar Bluff Chamber of Commerce and the Dexter Chamber of Commerce Red Carpet Awards. It was an enjoyable evening to spend visiting and seeing friends. Thanks to all of the organizers, sponsors, and volunteers who helped make these evenings pleasant and entertaining. Special thanks to chamber executive directors Steve Halter in Poplar Bluff and Janet Coleman in Dexter for their hard work, leadership, and dedication to making their communities a great place to have a business and raise a family.

Congratulations to Joey McLane on being named Citizen of the Year, and Ed DeGaris for being the first ever recipient of the Volunteer of the Year award at the Poplar Bluff banquet!

In Dexter, congratulations to all of the following award winners:

  • SoutheastHEALTH Center of Stoddard County: Business of the Year
  • Anita Joyner: Educator of the Year
  • Stoddard County Association for Retarded Citizens (ARC): Organization of the Year
  • Corner Cottage: Business of the Year
  • Bootheel Recycling: Industry of the Year

I had a great visit with farmers Mike and Jami Geske and John Moreton. They traveled to Jefferson City for the annual MO Corn Growers Association meetings. We had an informative discussion about the importance of corn and agriculture to our state, and especially our region. I appreciate Mike, Jami, and John travelling from the Bootheel to the capitol each year to advocate for our farmers.

I also met with David Madison and John Ferguson from Pemiscot County Port Authority. The annual legislative advocacy day for the ports was on Tuesday. Ports are vital to our state’s economy and play an important role in our local communities. Maintaining and enhancing our port’s capabilities and infrastructure is essential to the future of our area.

Lastly, I also had the opportunity to visit with Jeff and Dianne Arnold from Manufacturers Assistance Group in Poplar Bluff and Angela Hudgens from the Pemiscot Progressive Sheltered Workshop in Caruthersville. Sheltered Workshops and their employees are an AWESOME asset to our communities! The workers there are very dedicated and love their jobs. I greatly appreciate the work they do, and the staff and volunteers who assist.

Senator Doug Libla proudly serves the citizens of Butler, Carter, Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Shannon and Stoddard counties in the Missouri Senate.