FIRST REGULAR SESSION

SENATE BILL NO. 210

90TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR HOWARD, Read 1st time January 6, 1999, and 1,000 copies ordered printed.	TERRY L. SPIELER, Secretary.
AN ACT	

To repeal section 65.110, RSMo 1994, relating to certain county officials, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the same subject.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 65.110, RSMo 1994, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 65.110, to read as follows:

65.110. 1. There shall be [chosen at the biennial election] in each township one trustee, who shall be ex officio treasurer of the township, one [township] collector, one [township] clerk, and two members of the township board. All shall be elected at the municipal general election, established in section 115.123, RSMo, and, except as provided herein, shall be elected for terms of two years. The clerk and the member of the township board receiving the highest number of votes in the election held in 2000 shall be elected to a three year term. Their successors shall be elected to terms of two years.

2. Upon the assumption of office of a county assessor elected as provided by section 53.010, RSMo, the township clerk shall cease to perform the duties of ex officio township assessor and shall promptly deliver to the county assessor all books, papers, records, and property pertaining to the office of ex officio township assessor.

1