SB 0861 MO Bd. of Respiratory Care To License Respiratory Therapists
LR Number:L3051.01I Fiscal Note:3051-01
Committee:Public Health and Welfare
Last Action:03/04/96 - Hearing Conducted S Public Health & Welfare Committee
Effective Date:August 28, 1996
Full Bill Text | All Actions | Senate Home Page | List of 1996 Senate Bills
Current Bill Summary

SB 861 - Currently, respiratory care practitioners are certified, along with physician assistants and occupational therapists, by the Department of Economic development. This act would create a seven member Board of Respiratory Care within the Department's Division of Professional Registration. The Board will have no more than four members from the same political party, and the members serve staggered, three year terms. The members of the Board must consist of one physician, one public member, one hospital administrator, and four respiratory care practitioners.

The Board will license respiratory practitioners, certified respiratory therapy technicians, and registered respiratory therapists engaged in the practice respiratory care. The Board has the authority to suspend or revoke licenses, issue subpoenas, enforce discipline or sanctions, and to promulgate rules and regulations. Violations of the provisions of the act are a Class B misdemeanor.