SB 0340 Missions of State Colleges and Univ.; Truman St. University
Committee:EDUCLR Number:L1204.04T
Last Action:06/15/95 - Signed by the Governor
Title:HS/SB 340
Effective Date:August 28, 1995
All Actions | Senate Home Page | List of 1995 Senate Bills
Current Bill Summary

TOM CRAWFORD HS/SB 340 - STATEWIDE MISSIONS - This act authorizes the Coordinating Board for Higher Education to review the missions and needs of state higher educational institutions, including Linn Technical College, to review applications from institutions seeking a statewide mission, and to determine whether such institutions qualify under the act for a statewide mission or additional resources. A statewide mission shall become effective on July 1 following approval by both houses of the General Assembly by concurrent resolution, except that missions recommended by the Coordinating Board prior to August 28, 1995 shall become effective on August 28, 1995 and the mission for Central Missouri State University shall not require approval by concurrent resolution.

The act establishes criteria which institutions must meet to qualify for statewide missions, including criteria for enrollment, programs, admission standards, academic emphasis, implementation plans and measures of student achievement and institutional attainment.

GOVERNING BOARDS - The act establishes the appointment of members, powers and duties of governing boards of institutions granted statewide missions pursuant to this act. Each board shall consist of ten total members, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Seven voting members shall be appointed, four from the school's historic service region and three from the rest of the state, and three nonvoting members, two from outside the state and one student selected pursuant to the existing process for selection of student representatives to governing boards. The voting members shall serve six year terms, except that two initial members shall serve two year terms and two shall serve four year terms. The nonvoting members, other than the student member, shall serve six year terms, except that one initial member shall serve a three year term. The student member shall serve a two year term.

The act changes, in law, the names of certain state universities to reflect the names which have been adopted by the governing boards of these institutions pursuant to existing law, including Central Missouri State University, Northeast Missouri State University, Southeast Missouri State University and Southwest Missouri State University.

The portions of the act pertaining to governing boards and missions are similar to HB 515 from 1995.

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY - The act changes the name of Northeast Missouri State University (Kirksville) to Truman State University (effective 7-1-96).

This portion of the act is similar to HB 517 and SB 362 from 1995.