SB 0121 Regulates users of ionizing radiation technology
Committee:PUBHLR Number:L0572.01I
Last Action:05/15/95 - S Inf Calendar S Bills For Perfection w/SCA 1
Effective Date:July 1, 1996
All Actions | Senate Home Page | List of 1995 Senate Bills
Current Bill Summary

SB 121 - This act establishes the Advisory Board of Ionizing Radiation Technology. The use of ionizing radiation, defined as x-rays, gamma rays, alpha and beta particles, on human beings for any purpose, other than by a person with certification from the Board of Ionizing Radiation Technology is unlawful.

However, persons who are licensed chiropractic physicians, dentists, medical or osteopathic physicians, podiatrists, dental hygienists or students at an approved school or college of medicine, osteopathy, dentistry, chiropractic, podiatry, radiography, dental hygiene, dental assistant training, nuclear medicine technology or radiation therapy technology may use ionizing radiation without certification.

A thirteen member Board is established in the Division of Professional Registration. The Board members will be appointed by the Director of the Department of Economic Development. The Board will consist of 2 physicians, one certified by the American Board of Radiology and 1 certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Radiology, 1 dentist, 1 radiation physicist, 1 nuclear medicine technologist certified by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists or the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board, 2 radiographers registered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists, 1 member of the American Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic Technologists, 1 chiropractor who is board certified by the American Chiropractic Board of Radiology, 1 podiatrist, 1 dental assistant certified by the Dental Assisting National Board, Inc., 1 radiation therapist certified by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists and 1 public member.

The Board members will receive actual and necessary travel expenses and compensation of $50 per day while attending meetings or discharging the actual duties of the Board. Board members who are members of the allied health professions may only be chosen from nominees selected by the appropriate professional association or society. After the initial staggered appointments, the Board members shall serve 4 year terms.

The Board may issue certificates covering 4 areas: General Radiography, Limited Radiography, Radiation Therapy and Nuclear Medicine Technology. The Department of Health will establish minimum standards to regulate the training and education of radiologic technologists.

The Division may allow the issuance of temporary permits and may also refuse to issue a certificate or permit. The Division shall notify any applicant in writing of the reasons for refusal and shall advise an applicant of his/her right to file a complaint with the Administrative Hearing Commission.

The Division shall establish application fees and examination and reexamination fees and renewal fees by administrative rules. The fees shall be set at a level to produce revenue which shall not substantially exceed the cost and expenses of administering the obligations of this act. All fees shall be deposited into the Ionizing Radiation Technology Fund.

This act has an effective date of July 1, 1996.