SECOND REGULAR SESSION

SENATE BILL NO. 942

102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR LUETKEMEYER.

4215S.01I KRISTINA MARTIN, Secretary

AN ACT

To repeal section 238.060, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to selection of commissioners of the Kansas City area transportation authority.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 238.060, RSMo, is repealed and one new

- 2 section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 238.060,
- 3 to read as follows:
 - 238.060. 1. There shall be five commissioners of the
- 2 Kansas City area transportation authority appointed from
- 3 within the district established by the compact between the
- 4 states of Missouri and Kansas. One commissioner each shall
- 5 be appointed from Cass, Platte and Clay counties. One
- 6 commissioner shall be appointed from a part of Jackson
- 7 County other than that part of such county that is within
- 8 the city of Kansas City, and one commissioner shall be
- 9 appointed from the city of Kansas City. The commissioners
- 10 serving on August 28, 2000, shall serve the remainder of the
- 11 term for which they were appointed.
- 12 2. Within sixty days before the expiration of the term
- of each commissioner holding office on August 28, 2000, or
- 14 any commissioner holding office after August 28, 2000, or
- 15 within thirty days after the position of a commissioner
- 16 shall become vacant, that commissioner's successor shall be
- 17 appointed as follows:

SB 942 2

18 (1)If the current commissioner or the position which has become vacant was appointed from Platte or Clay County, 19 20 the county commission of the county shall submit a panel of three persons who are residents of that county and of any 21 city, town or village, including the city of Kansas City, 22 23 Missouri, that has appropriated funds for operations of the 24 Kansas City area transportation authority in its current or 25 immediately preceding fiscal year, selected by a majority vote of the commission, to the mayor of Kansas City, 26 27 Missouri, who shall appoint with the approval of a majority of the members of the city council of the city of Kansas 28 29 City, Missouri, a successor from the county commission's panel of three persons within thirty days or the county 30 31 shall have the right to appoint a successor; If the current commissioner or the position which 32 (2) has become vacant was appointed from Cass County, the county 33 commission of the county shall, by a majority vote, submit a 34 panel of three persons who are residents of the county to 35 36 the governor. Within thirty days of submission, the governor shall appoint one person from the panel as 37 commissioner, with the advice and consent of the senate; 38 provided that, if any panel is not submitted to the governor 39 by the time appointment is required, the governor shall 40 appoint a qualified person meeting the residency 41 requirements to fill the vacancy; 42 43 If the current commissioner or the position which 44 has become vacant was appointed from Jackson County, the county executive of Jackson County shall appoint a successor 45 who shall be a resident of any city, town or village, other 46 than the city of Kansas City, Missouri, that has 47

appropriated funds for operations of the Kansas City area

48

SB 942

49 transportation authority in its current or immediately
50 preceding fiscal year;

- 51 (4) If the current commissioner or the position which 52 has become vacant was appointed from Kansas City, Missouri, 53 the mayor of Kansas City, Missouri, shall appoint a 54 successor who is a resident of that city.
 - 3. Each commissioner appointed pursuant to this section shall hold office for a term of four years or for the unexpired term of his or her predecessor and shall continue in office until his or her successor has been appointed and has qualified. No person shall serve more than two consecutive four-year terms as a commissioner, provided that a person appointed to serve the unexpired term of a predecessor whose remaining term at the time of such appointment is more than two and one-half years shall only be permitted to serve one additional, consecutive four-year term.