SENATE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

FOR

SENATE BILL NO. 466

AN ACT

To repeal sections 100.265 and 215.020, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof two new sections relating to membership on certain state administrative entities.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Sections 100.265 and 215.020, RSMo, are repealed and two new sections enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as sections 100.265 and 215.020, to read as follows:

100.265. 1. There is hereby created within the department of economic development the "Missouri Development Finance Board", which shall constitute a body corporate and politic and shall consist of [twelve] sixteen members, including the lieutenant governor, the director of the department of economic development, the director of the department of natural resources, [and] the director of the department of agriculture, two members of the senate, one of which shall be from the majority party appointed by the president pro tempore of the senate and one of which shall be from the minority party appointed by the minority leader, and two members of the house of representatives, one of which shall be from the majority party appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and one of which shall be from the minority party appointed by the minority No more than five members appointed by the governor leader. to the board shall be of the same political party. Except for the lieutenant governor, the director of the department of economic development, the director of the department of natural resources, [and] the director of the department of agriculture, and members of the general assembly, all

members shall be appointed by the governor by and with the advice and consent of the senate, and shall serve for terms of four years. The persons serving as members of the Missouri economic development, export and infrastructure board on August 28, 1994, shall become members of the Missouri development finance board for terms to expire at the same time their terms would have expired if they had remained members of the Missouri economic development, export and infrastructure board. The Missouri development finance board shall replace the Missouri economic development, export and infrastructure board. All moneys, property, any other assets or liabilities of the Missouri economic development, export and infrastructure board on August 28, 1994, shall be transferred to the Missouri development finance board. All powers, duties and functions performed by the Missouri economic development, export and infrastructure board pursuant to sections 100.250 to 100.297 shall be transferred to the Missouri development finance board.

2. Each member of the board appointed by the governor shall have resided in this state for at least five years prior to appointment. Except for the lieutenant governor, director of the department of economic development, the director of the department of natural resources, [and] the director of the department of agriculture, <u>and members of the general assembly</u>, no person may be appointed to the board who is an elected officer or employee of the state, or any agency, board, commission, or authority established by the state.

3. The governor shall designate one of the members of the board to serve as chairman. The board shall meet at such times and places it shall designate. [Seven] <u>Nine</u> members shall constitute a quorum. No vacancy in the

membership shall impair the right of a quorum of the members to exercise all of the rights and powers and to perform all of the duties of the board.

4. Members of the board shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for their reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.

215.020. 1. There is hereby created and established as a governmental instrumentality of the state of Missouri the "Missouri Housing Development Commission" which shall constitute a body corporate and politic.

2. The commission shall consist of the governor, lieutenant governor, the state treasurer, the state attorney general, two members of the senate, one of which shall be from the majority party appointed by the president pro tempore of the senate and one of which shall be from the minority party appointed by the minority leader, and two members of the house of representatives, one of which shall be from the majority party appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and one of which shall be from the minority party appointed by the minority leader, and six members to be selected by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate. The persons to be selected by the governor shall be individuals knowledgeable in the areas of housing, finance or construction. Not more than four of the members appointed by the governor shall be from the same political party. The members of the commission appointed by the governor shall serve the following terms: Two shall serve two years, two shall serve three years, and two shall serve four years, respectively. Thereafter, each appointment shall be for a term of four years. If for any reason a vacancy occurs, the governor, with the advice and

consent of the senate, shall appoint a new member to fill the unexpired term. Members are eligible for reappointment.

3. [Six] <u>Eight</u> members of the commission shall constitute a quorum. No vacancy in the membership of the commission shall impair the right of a quorum to exercise all the rights and perform all the duties of the commission. No action shall be taken by the commission except upon the affirmative vote of at least [six] <u>eight</u> of the members of the commission.

4. Each member of the commission appointed by the governor is entitled to compensation of fifty dollars per diem plus his reasonable and necessary expenses actually incurred in discharging his duties under sections 215.010 to 215.250.