SECOND REGULAR SESSION

SENATE BILL NO. 910

100TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR WALLINGFORD.

Read 1st time January 21, 2020, and ordered printed.

ADRIANE D. CROUSE, Secretary.

5025S.01I

AN ACT

To repeal section 174.453, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof two new sections relating to statewide missions of institutions of higher education.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 174.453, RSMo, is repealed and two new sections 2 enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as sections 174.281 and 174.453, to read as 3 follows:

174.281. Southeast Missouri State University may develop a 2 statewide mission in visual and performing arts, computer science, and 3 cybersecurity.

174.453. 1. Except as provided in section 174.450 and in subsection 62 of this section, the board of governors shall be appointed as follows:

3 (1) Five voting members shall be selected from the counties comprising
4 the institution's historic statutory service region as described in section 174.010,
5 except that no more than two members shall be appointed from any one county
6 with a population of less than two hundred thousand inhabitants;

7 (2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the counties in the
8 state which are outside of the institution's historic service region; and

9 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be selected in the same 10 manner as prescribed in section 174.055.

(1) The voting members shall be appointed for terms of six years; and

11

2. The term of service of the governors shall be as follows:

12

13 (2) The nonvoting student member shall serve a two-year term.

3. Members of any board of governors selected pursuant to this sectionand in office on May 13, 1999, shall serve the remainder of their unexpired terms.

16 4. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of this section, the

 $\mathbf{2}$

17 board of governors of Missouri Southern State University shall be appointed as18 follows:

(1) Six voting members shall be selected from any of the following
counties: Barton, Jasper, Newton, McDonald, Dade, Lawrence, and Barry
provided that no more than three of these six members shall be appointed from
any one county;

(2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the counties in the
state which are outside of the counties articulated in subdivision (1) of this
subsection;

26 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be selected in the same
27 manner as prescribed in section 174.055; and

(4) The provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection shall onlyapply to board members first appointed after August 28, 2004.

5. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of this section, the
board of governors of Missouri Western State University shall be appointed as
follows:

(1) Five voting members shall be selected from any of the following
counties: Buchanan, Platte, Clinton, Andrew, and DeKalb provided that no more
than three of these five members shall be appointed from any one county;

36 (2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the counties in the 37 state which are outside of the counties articulated in subdivision (1) of this 38 subsection;

39 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be selected in the same40 manner as prescribed in section 174.055; and

41 (4) The provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection shall only
42 apply to board members first appointed after August 28, 2005.

6. (1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of this
section to the contrary, the board of governors of Southeast Missouri
State University shall be appointed as follows:

46 (a) One voting member shall be selected from one of the
47 following counties: Butler, Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot,
48 Scott, and Stoddard;

49 (b) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the
50 following counties: Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Madison, Perry, Ste.
51 Genevieve, and St. Francois;

52 (c) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the

53 following counties or areas: Franklin, Jefferson, Lincoln, St. Charles,

54 St. Louis, St. Louis City, and Warren;

55 (d) Two voting members shall be selected from any of the 56 counties in the state; and

57 (e) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be selected in 58 the same manner as provided in section 174.055.

- 59 (2) The provisions of paragraphs (a) to (c) of this subdivision 60 shall only apply to board members first appointed after August 28, 2020.

Bill