Dec. 9, 1824
This Date in Missouri Senate History

On This Date in Missouri Senate History, the date was Dec. 9, 1824, the day the Missouri General Assembly passed the state’s first liquor law.

The new law, which would take effect the following February, fined people for selling, giving or exchanging alcohol with a Native American. Fines ranged from 30 to $150, and jail time was anywhere from 10 to 30 days.

Most of the rules regulating sales and consumption of alcoholic beverages, prior to this, were left over from territorial rules put in place by the federal government. Missouri had only been a state for three years, at this point.

Approximately a century later, the Show-Me State would be among the last to institute Prohibition laws, and in some cases, ignore them entirely.

[bookmark: _GoBack]But, this would not be the case on Dec. 9, 1824, the date marking passage of Missouri’s first liquor law, on This Date in Missouri Senate History.
























(Source: Encyclopedia of the History of St. Louis, Vol. 3)
1

