SJR 19 Modifies the membership composition and terms of service of the commissioners on the Conservation Commission
Sponsor: Munzlinger
LR Number: 4298S.01I Fiscal Notes
Committee: Agriculture, Food Production and Outdoor Resources
Last Action: 1/18/2018 - Second Read and Referred S Agriculture, Food Production and Outdoor Resources Committee Journal Page: S165
Title: Calendar Position:
Effective Date: Upon Voter Approval

Full Bill Text | All Actions | Amendments/CCRs/CCSs | Available Summaries | Senate Home Page | List of 2018 Senate Bills

Current Bill Summary

SJR 19 - Currently, the Conservation Commission is comprised of four members. Upon voter approval, this proposed constitutional amendment increases the membership of the Commission to eight and requires that each of the members be appointed from each of the eight conservation regions as such regions have been designated as of December 1, 2011. Additionally, no more than four members may belong to the same political party, and no member may serve on the Commission for more than one six-year term over a period of twelve years.

This joint resolution is identical to HJR 70 (2018), and is similar to HJR 95 (2018), HJR 40 (2017), SS/SCS/SJR 19 (2016), SJR 1 (2015), SJR 29 (2014), and SJR 27(2012).