SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 5

Whereas, the Joachim Creek runs through both Jefferson County and St. Francois County in Missouri;

Whereas, the Joachim Creek has changed over the course of time and has begun to endanger the health, safety, and welfare of citizens by being prone to frequent flash flood events;

Whereas, it is pertinent that action be taken in order to ensure that citizens located near Joachim Creek have safe housing and a safe environment to work, live, and raise their families;

Whereas, citizens, government agencies, community groups, and businesses need to come together to provide solutions for those afflicted by the Joachim Creek frequent flash flood events;

Now Therefore Be It Resolved that the members of the Missouri Senate, Ninety-ninth General Assembly, First Regular Session, the House of Representatives concurring therein, hereby urge the City of DeSoto and Jefferson County to establish a Joachim Creek Joint Task Force in order to:

1. Establish an early warning system to alert citizens of the need to evacuate during a flash flood event;

2. Conduct a study to better identify areas that are truly affected by repeated flooding of the Joachim Creek, and to distribute such results to assist in long-term planning in the Jefferson County area;

3. Determine if an organized property buyout is possible for areas that are truly affected by repeated flooding of the Joachim Creek; and

 Identify methods that allow the area to use such flooding as an economic development tool; and Be It Further Resolved that the Task Force may include the following members:

1. Traysa Sauer, Committee Member, Concerned Citizens for Flood Relief;

2. Susan Liley, Committee Member, Concerned Citizens for Flood Relief;

3. Paula Arbuthnot, Committee Member, Concerned Citizens for Flood Relief;

4. Elaine Gannon, State Representative, Missouri House of Representatives, District 115;

5. Claire McCaskill, Senator, United States Senate, or her designee;

6. Roy Blunt, Senator, United States Senate, or his designee;

7. Jason Smith, Congressman, United States House of Representatives, Missouri's 8th District, or

his designee;

- 8. Gary Romine, Senator, Missouri State Senate, District 3;
- 9. Ben Harris, State Representative, Missouri House of Representatives, District 118;
- 10. Ken Waller, County Executive, Jefferson County;
- 11. Warren Robinson, Director, Jefferson County Office of Emergency Management;
- 12. Eric Larson, Director, Code Enforcement Division, Jefferson County;
- 13. David Dews, City Manager, City of DeSoto;
- 14. A representative from the Army Corps of Engineers;
- 15. A representative from the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency;
- 16. A representative from the Federal Emergency Management Agency;
- 17. A representative from the Jefferson County Office of Economic Development; and

Be it Further Resolved that the Task Force may elect a chairperson and other officeholders from within its membership, and may add members to the Task Force by a majority vote; and

Be It Further Resolved that the Secretary of the Missouri Senate be instructed to prepare properly inscribed copies of this resolution for Jefferson County Executive Ken Waller, Senator Claire McCaskill, Senator Roy Blunt, Congressman Jason Smith, the Director of the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency, the Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and the Commanding General of the United States Army Corps of Engineers.