SB 585 Divides the Thirty-Eighth Judicial Circuit and creates a new Forty-Sixth Judicial Circuit
Sponsor: Wasson Co-Sponsor(s)
LR Number: 4895S.03T Fiscal Notes
Committee: Judiciary and Civil and Criminal Jurisprudence
Last Action: 2/18/2016 - Signed by Governor Journal Page: S354
Title: SCS SB 585 Calendar Position:
Effective Date: Emergency clause
House Handler: Morris

Full Bill Text | All Actions | Amendments/CCRs/CCSs | Available Summaries | Senate Home Page | List of 2016 Senate Bills

Current Bill Summary

SCS/SB 585 - Currently, the Thirty-Eighth Judicial Circuit consists of Christian and Taney counties. The act provides that the Thirty-Eighth Judicial Circuit shall consist of only Christian County and creates a new Forty-Sixth Judicial Circuit consisting of Taney County. The Forty-Sixth Judicial Circuit shall have one circuit judge elected in 2016.

Juvenile officers employed in a multicounty circuit which switches to a first class single county circuit on or after August 28, 2016, are state employees and shall receive state-provided benefits.

This act contains an emergency clause and is similar to provisions contained in HB 1793 (2016), HB 2401 (2016), and SS/SCS/HB 799 (2015).