SB 58
Modifies and repeals a number of existing, expired or obsolete committees
LR Number:
Last Action:
7/13/2015 - Signed by Governor
Journal Page:
SS SB 58
Calendar Position:
Effective Date:
August 28, 2015
House Handler:

Current Bill Summary

SS/SB 58 - This act repeals a number of committees that have dissolved or expired as required by their authorizing statutes. The defunct committees are the Advisory Committee on Tobacco Securitization (section 8.597); Joint Committee on Corrections (21.400 to 21.465); Joint Committee on Capital Improvements and Leases Oversight (21.530 to 21.537); Joint Committee on Missouri's Energy Future (21.830); Joint Committee on the Missouri Criminal Code review of sexual offender registry (21.835); Joint Committee on Solid Waste Management District Operations (21.850); Joint Committee on Missouri's Promise (21.920); Missouri Investment Trust and its board (30.953 to 30.971); Joint Subcommittee on Recovery Accountability and Transparency (33.850); Committee on State-operated Wireless Communications Systems (37.250); Joint Committee on Real Property Tax Increment Allocation Redevelopment (99.863); Joint Committee of General Assembly to review Economic Stimulus Act (99.971); Joint Committee of General Assembly to review Rural Economic Stimulus Act (99.1057); the SB 844 (2010) version of a section that created the Missouri Ethics Commission (105.955); the Children's Vision Commission (167.195); Newborn Hearing Screening Advisory Committee (191.934); the Chronic Kidney Disease Task Force (192.632); the State Commission on Regulatory Barriers to Affordable Housing (215.261 and 215.262); Joint Committee on Gaming and Wagering (313.001); and the Missouri Oral Chemotherapy Parity Interim Committee (338.321).

The act also repeals a joint legislative committee that was created to oversee the destruction of certain documents by the Commissioner of Administration (33.150) and the Division of Finance (361.120).

The membership of the Governmental Emergency Fund Committee is modified by designating the Commissioner of Administration as ex officio comptroller of the Committee and replacing the director of the Division of Facilities Management, Design and Construction with the director of the Department of Revenue as a consultant to the Committee (33.710).

Technical modifications are made to the Criminal Records and Justice Information Advisory Committee (43.518) as well as removal of references to non-existent boards and commissions (see 160.530, 191.828, 320.092, and 348.439).

Currently, the State Mental Health Commission includes one member who is a physician recognized as an expert in the evaluation or habilitation of persons with disabilities. This act provides that such member shall be a physician, licensed clinical psychologist, or other licensed clinician recognized as an expert in the evaluation or treatment of persons with disabilities (630.010).

This act is similar to provisions in HCS/SS/SB 575 (2014) and SB 66 (2013).