Missouri State Senate

Truly Agreed to and Finally Passed

SB 334 - This act repeals provisions that limited state teachers colleges from conferring postgraduate degrees except those necessary to the training of teachers or degrees other than those in education and arts and sciences. (Section 174.030)

This act broadens the degree programs that Harris-Stowe State University may offer. Currently, Harris-Stowe is only authorized to offer undergraduate degree programs with an emphasis on selected applied professional disciplines. This act authorizes Harris-Stowe to offer baccalaureate degree programs and graduate degree programs, upon approval of the Coordinating Board for Higher Education. (Section 174.310)

Sections 174.030 and 174.310 are substantially similar to HB 653 (2015).

Currently, membership on the Northwest Missouri State University's board of regents is based in part on residency in the university's historic statutory service region. This act specifies that the following additional counties will be considered part of the historic service region for the sole purpose of the composition of the board of regents: Andrew, Clinton, and DeKalb. (Section 174.332)