SB 362
Licenses clinical laboratory personnel
LR Number:
Last Action:
2/28/2013 - Second Read and Referred S Financial and Governmental Organizations and Elections Committee
Journal Page:
Calendar Position:
Effective Date:
August 28, 2013

Current Bill Summary

SB 362 - This act establishes licensing standards for different types of clinical laboratory science personnel. The act licenses medical laboratory scientists, categorical laboratory scientists, medical laboratory technicians and phlebotomists.

The act establishes the Clinical Laboratory Science Board consisting of nine members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Among other duties, the board shall establish educational standards and procedures for granting reciprocity for licensees from other states.

Applicants for licensing are required to be at least 18 years old, submit an application, pay a fee, submit to a background check, pass certain examinations, and meet specific educational requirements.

Current practitioners of clinical laboratory science, who are eligible for certification by an agency acceptable to the board and have applied to the board may continue to perform their duties until twelve months after the filing of their application. If a person does not meet the education, training, and experience requirements for a license before August 28, 2014, they shall be considered to meet the qualifications for a license if they have three years of acceptable experience in the five years before August 28, 2012.

Temporary licenses are allowed and licensees may be placed on inactive status under certain circumstances. Procedures are established for denial and discipline of licenses and for the review of those administrative decisions.

The board is also authorized to seek injunctions against unlicensed clinical laboratory science personnel and subpoena individuals and documents.

Any person who violates this act shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

This act is similar to SB 1099 (2006), SB 314 (2007), SB 1162 (2008), SB 365 (2009), SB 1063 (2010), SB 382 (2011), SB 544 (2012), and identical to HB 922 (2013).