SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 23

96TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR CROWELL.

Pre-filed December 1, 2011, and ordered printed.

TERRY L. SPIELER, Secretary.

JOINT RESOLUTION

Submitting to the qualified voters of Missouri, an amendment repealing section 17 of article IV of the Constitution of Missouri, and adopting one new section in lieu thereof relating to term limits for statewide elected officials.

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring therein:

That at the next general election to be held in the state of Missouri, on

- 2 Tuesday next following the first Monday in November, 2012, or at a special
- 3 election to be called by the governor for that purpose, there is hereby submitted
- 4 to the qualified voters of this state, for adoption or rejection, the following
- 5 amendment to article IV of the Constitution of the state of Missouri:

Section A. Section 17, article IV, Constitution of Missouri, is repealed and

- 2 one new section adopted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 17, to read as
- 3 follows:

4470S.01I

Section 17. The governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state

- 2 treasurer and attorney general shall be elected at the presidential elections for
- 3 terms of four years each. The state auditor shall be elected for a term of two
- 4 years at the general election in the year 1948, and his successors shall be elected
- 5 for terms of four years. No person shall be elected governor, lieutenant
- 6 governor, secretary of state, attorney general, state auditor, or treasurer
- 7 more than twice, and no person who has held the office of governor, lieutenant
- 8 governor, secretary of state, attorney general, state auditor, or treasurer,
- 9 or acted as governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney
- 10 general, state auditor, or treasurer, for more than two years of a term to which
- 11 some other person was elected to the office of governor, lieutenant governor,
- 12 secretary of state, attorney general, state auditor, or treasurer shall be
- 13 elected to the office of governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state,
- 14 attorney general, state auditor, or treasurer more than once. The heads of

SJR 23 2

15 all the executive departments shall be appointed by the governor, by and with the

16 advice and consent of the senate. All appointive officers may be removed by the

17 governor and shall possess the qualifications required by this constitution or by

18 law.

/

Unofficial

Bill

Copy