SB 220
Modifies liens for certain design professionals and the statute of limitations for actions against land surveyors
LR Number:
Last Action:
9/14/2011 - No motion made to override Governor's veto
Journal Page:
HCS SB 220
Calendar Position:
Effective Date:
August 28, 2011
House Handler:

Current Bill Summary

HCS/SB 220 - Currently, architects, engineers, landscape architects, land surveyors, and corporations registered to do the work of these professions who perform work on buildings or land have a lien on the building or land to the extent of one acre. This act increases the lien to encompass three acres.

This act changes the statute of limitations for actions against land surveyors from 5 years after the discovery of an error or omission to 10 years from the completion of the survey.

This act authorizes the establishment of a peer review process for architects, landscape architects, professional land surveyors, or professional engineers.

Peer reviewers and each person who testifies before them, provides information to them, acts upon their recommendation, or participates in the peer review process are immune from civil liability for these actions, as long as the actions are performed in good faith, without malice and are reasonably related to the scope of inquiry of the peer review process.

Certain documents created during the peer review process are privileged and are prohibited from being released to any person. These documents are not admissible in any judicial or administrative action for failure to provide appropriate architectural, landscape architectural, land surveying, or engineering services. A person who participated in the peer review process shall not be permitted or required to disclose information they learned from the peer review process.

This act does not limit the authority of the Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors and Landscape Architects to obtain information from a peer reviewer.

This act is similar to SB 1074 (2008), SB 267 (2009), SB 867 (2010), SB 326 (2011), SB 29 (2011), and HB 568 (2011).