## SECOND REGULAR SESSION

## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 44**

95TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR SHIELDS.

Read 1st time March 1, 2010, and ordered printed.

5296S.01I

TERRY L. SPIELER, Secretary.

## JOINT RESOLUTION

Submitting to the qualified voters of Missouri, an amendment repealing section 12 of article IV of the Constitution of Missouri, and adopting one new section in lieu thereof relating to reducing the number of state departments.

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring therein:

That at the next general election to be held in the state of Missouri, on Tuesday next following the first Monday in November, 2010, or at a special election to be called by the governor for that purpose, there is hereby submitted to the qualified voters of this state, for adoption or rejection, the following amendment to article IV of the Constitution of the state of Missouri:

Section A. Section 12, article IV, Constitution of Missouri, is repealed and one new section adopted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 12, to read as follows:

Section 12. The executive department shall consist of all state elective and appointive officials and employees except officials and employees of the legislative  $\mathbf{2}$ and judicial departments. In addition to the governor and lieutenant governor 3 there shall be a state auditor, secretary of state, attorney general, a state 4 treasurer, and an office of administration[, a department of agriculture, a 56 department of conservation, a department of natural resources, a department of elementary and secondary education, a department of higher education, a 7 department of highways and transportation, a department of insurance, a 8 department of labor and industrial relations, a department of economic 9 development, a department of public safety, a department of revenue, a 10 11 department of social services, and a department of mental health]. In addition 12to the elected officers, there shall not be more than fifteen departments and the

**SJR 44** 

office of administration. The general assembly may create by law two 1314departments, in addition to those named, provided that the departments shall be headed by a director or commission appointed by the governor on the advice and 15consent of the senate. The director or commission shall have administrative 16responsibility and authority for the department created by law. Unless 17discontinued all present or future boards, bureaus, commissions and other 18 agencies of the state exercising administrative or executive authority shall be 19 20assigned by law or by the governor as provided by law to the office of 21administration or to one of the fifteen administrative departments to which their 22respective powers and duties are germane.

 $\checkmark$