SECOND REGULAR SESSION

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 39

95TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR CROWELL.

Read 1st time January 25, 2010, and ordered printed.

TERRY L. SPIELER, Secretary.

JOINT RESOLUTION

Submitting to the qualified voters of Missouri, an amendment repealing section 2(a) of article IX of the Constitution of Missouri, and adopting one new section in lieu thereof relating to the membership of the state board of education.

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring therein:

That at the next general election to be held in the state of Missouri, on

- 2 Tuesday next following the first Monday in November, 2010, or at a special
- 3 election to be called by the governor for that purpose, there is hereby submitted
- 4 to the qualified voters of this state, for adoption or rejection, the following
- 5 amendment to article IX of the Constitution of the state of Missouri:

Section A. Section 2(a), article IX, Constitution of Missouri, is repealed

- 2 and one new section adopted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 2(a), to read
- 3 as follows:

4462S.01I

Section 2(a). The supervision of instruction in the public schools shall be

- 2 vested in a state board of education, consisting of [eight] six lay members and
- 3 one active classroom teacher, one active building principal, and one
- 4 active school superintendent. The six lay members shall be appointed by
- 5 the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the senate[; provided,
- 6 that]. The active classroom teacher, active building principal, and
- 7 active school superintendent members shall be appointed by the
- 8 governor, by and with the advice and consent of the senate, and serve
- 9 only one four-year term, except the terms of the first active classroom
- 10 teacher, active building principal, and active school superintendent
- 11 appointees shall be from one to four years, respectively. At no time shall
- 12 more than [four] three of the lay members be of the same political party. The

SJR 39 2

13 term of office of each lay member shall be [eight] four years, [except the terms

14 of the first appointees shall be from one to eight years, respectively] with one

15 reappointment possible. While attending to the duties of their office, members

16 shall be entitled to receive only actual expenses incurred, and a per diem fixed

17 by law.

I Inofficial

Bill

Copy