

July 14, 2010

## **Claiming Your Unclaimed Property**

People throughout the state are looking at ways to cut their household expenses and save up some extra cash, but with \$600 million in unclaimed property in the state, some may be overlooking money that is rightfully theirs. By law, the State Treasurer's office is required to collect and maintain property that is unclaimed by Missouri citizens. One in ten Missourians has unclaimed property and the average return is \$360, so a simple search could result in money in your pocket.

Unclaimed property could be in the form of funds from dormant checking or savings

accounts, un-cashed money orders, cashiers checks, mineral royalty payments, safe deposit box contents, unused gift certificates, unclaimed insurance benefits, lost cash dividends, stocks, found utility deposits, unclaimed security deposits, and court deposits. Property is considered "unclaimed" after five or more



years without any documented transactions or contact with the owners. State law requires financial institutions, insurance companies, public agencies and businesses to turn over

unclaimed property to the state. The state holds cash property in trust forever — the assets

## The fastest and most efficient way to check to see if you have unclaimed property:

- Visit <u>www.showmemoney.com</u>.
- If you don't have access to the Internet:
  - Write to the state treasurer's office at: Missouri State Treasurer, Unclaimed Property Division, P.O. Box 1004, Jefferson City, MO 65102,
- List of owners' names, addresses, and previous addresses (if known)
- They will let you know if the names are associated with any unclaimed property in the custody of the state.
- If you find that you have unclaimed property, you will need to prove your own identity or the fact that you are an heir to the original owner of the property.

being held *never* become property of the state and there is no time limit for filing claims.

Even if you don't remember losing any property, and you're pretty sure you don't have any funds remaining in old bank accounts, you still might be owed some money by the state if you are the legal heir of someone who has unclaimed property. Even if you do not see your name or a family member's name on the site, but you do see someone you know, please take time to tell them. You could be the bearer of good news.

Please know that the state will never charge a fee or require a deposit or credit card information to locate unclaimed property — the services of the Unclaimed Property Division are free of charge. If you receive an e-mail or message about your unclaimed property that requires you to deposit funds or pay a fee, it may very well be a scam.

The Unclaimed Property Division is in existence to help you find property that belongs to you, and I encourage you to utilize this asset. Missourians have discovered thousands of dollars and family heirlooms by simply making a quick inquiry. The state is working hard to make sure that you are reunited with the property that is rightfully yours.

## **Contact Me**

As always, I appreciate hearing your comments, opinions, and concerns. Please feel free to contact me in Jefferson City at (573) 751-2459. You may write to me at Jason Crowell; Missouri Senate; State Capitol; Jefferson City, MO 65101, or email me at: jcrowell@senate.mo.gov or visit me on the web at http://www.senate.mo.gov/crowell.

SUBSCRIBE | UNSUBSCRIBE