

## The Stouffer Report: Judges Will Be on Your November Ballot

With a critical election on the way, it is important to remember that there are many more races than the statewide and federal mid-term seats that will appear on your ballot. Voters will also be asked to decide the future of most of the judges in the state of Missouri.

Missouri's Non-Partisan Court Plan, also known as <u>The Missouri Plan</u>, applies to judges who sit on the <u>Supreme Court of Missouri</u> and the <u>Missouri Court of Appeals</u>. Voters will be asked whether or not to retain these judges on November 2.

The 21<sup>st</sup> Senatorial District is in the Court of Appeals' <u>Western District</u>. In addition to Missouri Supreme Court Justice <u>Zel Fischer</u>, folks will be asked "yes" or "no" to retain Appeals Court judges:

- Alok Ahuja, who was nominated in 2007 by Gov. Blunt:
- <u>Victor Howard</u>, who was nominated by Gov.
   Carnahan in 1996;
- <u>Karen King Mitchell</u>, who was nominated in 2009 by Gov. Nixon;
- Mark Pfeiffer, who was nominated by Gov. Nixon in 2009; and
- <u>James Welsh</u>, who was nominated in 2007 by Gov. Blunt.

<u>Clay County</u> also has some of its own judges in the Seventh Circuit, as mandated by the Missouri Plan:



Home



Recent Topics



Local News



Visit the Capitol



My Legislation



About Me



Podcasts

- Shane Alexander, who was nominated by Gov. Blunt in 2008; and
- <u>K. Elizabeth Davis</u>, who was also nominated in 2008 by Gov. Blunt.

In Clay County, voters will also decide the fate of two Associate Circuit Judges:

- <u>Donald Norris</u>, who was appointed in 2004; and
- <u>David Chamberlain</u>, who was appointed in 2008.

There will be other judges on the ballot in other parts of Missouri, including the Court of Appeals' <u>Southern District</u>:

- Robert Barney, who was nominated by Gov. Blunt in 1995; and
- <u>Donald Burrell, Jr.</u>, who was nominated in 2008 by Gov. Blunt.

There will only be one judge up for retention in the <u>Eastern</u> <u>District</u>:

 Mary Hoff, who was nominated in 1996 by Gov. Carnahan.

Larger areas of the state are divided into circuits as well, including:

- St. Louis (22<sup>nd</sup> Circuit);
- St. Louis County (21st Circuit);
- <u>Jackson County/Kansas City</u> (16<sup>th</sup> Circuit);
- Platte County (6<sup>th</sup> Circuit); and
- Greene County (31st Circuit).

Even though the Missouri Plan has seen its fair share of criticism over the years, it continues to be a model for other states and gives folks the opportunity to have their say in who stays and who goes. Occasionally, a judge will not be retained, at which point picking a replacement is up to the governor and a lengthy, thorough screening process. This is yet another reason why voting is so very important.

Senator Stouffer serves the counties of Carroll, Chariton, Cooper, Howard, Lafayette, Macon, Ray, Saline, and a part of Clay.

If you have questions or comments about this or any other issue, please call toll free (866) 768-3987 or by e-mail at bstouffer@senate.mo.gov.