

Senator Matt Bartle - Serving Jackson County

Website | Contact Me | Biography | Newsroom

New Missouri Laws Take Effect

August 28 is fast approaching, which is significant because it's the default enactment date for most bills passed during the 2009 legislative session and signed by the governor to become law. Rather than being just an arbitrary date, Aug. 28 is 90 days after the constitutional end of session. The state constitution requires that no bills take effect before 90 days have passed unless an emergency clause is attached during a bill's passage. When bills have an emergency clause, they usually take effect immediately upon receiving the governor's signature. In larger bills, some provisions may designate a different enactment date altogether, such as the beginning of the following year. Most often this is to give state agencies or other affected entities time to make any necessary changes in order to comply with the new law.

Here is a sampling of a few bills that will officially become law next week:

- INVEST IN MISSOURI Expands and streamlines the Missouri Linked Deposit Program, which allows banks to offer discounted loans to new or expanding businesses or farmers. It also gradually removes the restrictive cap on the rate of return the state can receive when it invests taxpayers' dollars in Missouri banks. (HB 883)
- NO REAL ID Protects individual privacy by prohibiting the Department of Revenue from amending procedures for applying for a driver's license or identification card in order to comply with the goals or standards of the federal REAL ID Act of 2005 and from selling any data derived from a person's license or permit application for commercial purposes. (HB 361)

- **VETERANS TAX CUT** Exempts 15 percent of a veteran's military pension from state income taxes in 2010, with the exemption increasing each year until it reaches 100 percent in 2016 and removes the requirement that a taxpayer be at least 62 years of age to be eligible for the publicly funded retirement benefit income tax exemption. (HB 82)
- **EXPANDED DNA TESTING:** This bill builds upon a landmark crime-fighting bill we passed five years ago, which expanded the state's DNA registry system to include all convicted felons. House Bill 152 takes it a step further by requiring any person who is age 17 or older and who is <u>arrested</u> for a violent felony, sex offense or burglary to provide a DNA sample for the database. This change will make the DNA database an even more effective tool for law enforcement. (HB 152)

If you have any comments or questions about this week's column or any other matter involving state government, please do not hesitate to contact me. You can reach my office by e-mail at matt_bartle@senate.mo.gov or by phone at (888) 711-9278. My web address is http://www.senate.mo.gov/bartle.

-END-

Contact Information

Capitol Office

State Capitol Building Room 319 Jefferson City, MO 65101

Website: http://www.senate.mo.gov/bartle

Phone Number: 888.711.9278 (toll-free) 573.751.1464

Fax: 573.751.8442