## SECOND REGULAR SESSION

## SENATE BILL NO. 1142

## 94TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR PURGASON.

Read 1st time February 14, 2008, and ordered printed.

5012S.01I

TERRY L. SPIELER, Secretary.

## AN ACT

To repeal section 478.705, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the twenty-sixth judicial circuit.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 478.705, RSMo, is repealed and one new section 2 enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 478.705, to read as follows:

478.705. 1. Beginning July 1, 2009, there shall be [two] three circuit

- 2 judges in the twenty-sixth judicial circuit consisting of the counties of Camden,
- 3 Laclede, Miller, Moniteau and Morgan. These judges shall sit in divisions
- 4 numbered one [and], two, and three.
- 5 2. The circuit judge in division two shall be elected in 1980. The circuit
- 6 judge in division one shall be elected in 1982. The governor shall appoint a
- 7 judge for division three, who shall serve until his or her successor is
- 8 duly elected in 2010.

