October 31, 2008 Unsubscribe



DISTRICT 21

Senator Bill Stouffer - Cultivating Rural Missouri.

Website | Contact Me | Newsroom

The Stouffer Report: Better Communities Come from Great People

I am proud to say the 21st Senatorial District can lay claim to some of the best people and towns in the state.

Recently, the annual <u>Missouri Community Betterment</u> (MCB) conference was held in Jefferson City. The City of <u>Higginsville</u> took several awards, as did many communities in our district. Higginsville has taken part in the Missouri Community Betterment rating process for over 20 years. Over this period of time, Higginsville has received numerous awards for outstanding volunteerism and leadership.

This year, Higginsville is the recipient of three prestigious awards: first place for youth, second place for community, and the Glenn Smith Memorial Youth Award. This is the top award for the entire state, and they had tremendous competition. Plus, a couple of individuals were nominated for the tireless service in the community. Rick Sengstacken was an adult leadership nominee and Brandon Draisey was a youth leadership nominee. Altogether, there were 36 communities and 18 individuals honored by MCB.

Students involved in Higginsville Youth Directing Realistic Opportunities (HYDRO) compile what they call a "project book" that is submitted for judging by MCB. In doing so, they put together a study of all the volunteer hours that youth perform in the community. Over the past year, Higginsville kids racked up nearly 111,000 hours of volunteer time. The amount is calculated from not only HYDRO, but the FFA, 4-H, Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Peer Helpers, church groups, and many more groups.

The awards banquet capped off Missouri Community Betterment's 45th conference. Roughly 350 volunteers, community leaders, and youth

from all over the Show-Me State came to Jefferson City for the three-day event.

It is a true honor for me to represent an area where so many young people have such a concern for their community and already contribute so much at such an early age. I thank them — and all of the folks who were nominated and who won awards at the MCB conference.

Grand Prize: Clinton

Category I:

First Place Allendale
Second Place Annapolis
Third Place Howardville
Fourth Place Caledonia
Fifth Place Jameson

Category II:

First Place Mansfield
Second Place Grant City
Third Place Bourbon
Fourth Place Higbee
Fifth Place Green City

Category III:

First Place Houston
Second Place Albany
Third Place East Prairie
Fourth Place Shelbina
Fifth Place Louisiana

Category IV:

First Place Brookfield
Second Place Higginsville
Third Place Eldon
Fourth Place Lamar
Fifth Place Salem

Category V:

First Place Cameron
Second Place Perryville
Third Place Sullivan
Fourth Place Pleasant Hill
Fifth Place Aurora

Category VI:

First Place Clinton
Second Place Moberly
Third Place Maryville
Fourth Place Kennett
Fifth Place Ozark

Certificate of Merit:

Category I, Graham; Category II, Crane; Category III, Cabool, Arcadia Valley, El Dorado

Springs; Category IV, Bonne Terre

Glenn Smith Memorial Youth Award: Higginsville

Youth Groups Category I:

First Place Annapolis Second Place Caledonia

Category II:

First Place Mansfield Second Place Higbee

Category III:

First Place Cabool Second Place Houston

Category IV:

First Place Higginsville Second Place Brookfield

Category V:

First Place Perryville Second Place Cameron

Category VI:

First Place Clinton Second Place Maryville

Certificate of Merit:

Category III:

East Prairie

Adult Leadership Award:

Avis Parman, Albany; John William Lucas, Caledonia; Frances Harvey, Clinton; Richard Sengstacken, Higginsville; Vannessa Frazier, Howardville; Robert "Bob" Douglas, Lamar; Jean Coday, Mansfield; Stan Podorski, Salem.

Youth Leadership Award:

Kristin Esmahan, Albany; Katy Tyler, Bonne Terre; Andrea Herington, Brookfield; Jacob Kearns, Caledonia; Alexis Marlay, Clinton;

Brandon Draisey, Higginsville; Shakeya Bell, Howardville; Stephanie Morgan, Lamar; Josh Ince, Louisiana; Luke Heithold, Salem

Senator Stouffer serves the counties of Carroll, Chariton, Cooper, Howard, Lafayette, Macon, Ray, Saline, and a part of Clay.

If you have questions or comments about this or any other issue, please call toll free (866) 768-3987 or by e-mail at bstouffer@senate.mo.gov.

Contact Information

Website:

Capitol Office Phone Number:

State Capitol Room 332 Jefferson City, MO 65101 http://www.senate.mo.gov/stouffer

573.751.1507 **Fax:** 573.751.9764

Toll-Free Phone Number: 866.768.3987

<u>Click here</u> to unsubscribe.

Serving Carroll, Chariton, Cooper, Howard, Lafayette, Macon, Ray, Saline, and Parts of Clay.