Missouri State Senate
Biography for Senator Griesheimer

A native of Missouri, John E. Griesheimer represents the 26th Senatorial District in the Missouri Senate, which is made up of parts of Franklin, Warren and West St. Louis counties. Elected to the Missouri Senate in 2002, Sen. Griesheimer previously served in the Missouri House of Representatives from 1992 to 2002.

As a member of the House of Representatives, he successfully passed the first state law allowing cities to regulate billboards. He co-authored and co-sponsored the toughest law regulating HMO’s in the country.

In the Senate, Sen. Griesheimer serves on the following committees:

  • Economic Development, Tourism and Local Government – Chairman
  • Commerce, Energy and the Environment
  • Transportation -- Vice-Chairman
  • Ways and Means
  • Joint Committee on Administrative Rules
  • Joint Committee on Gaming and Wagering
  • Joint Commiittee on Transportation Oversight
  • Senate Interim Committee on Tax Increment Financing -- Chairman
  • Sen. Griesheimer has been recognized for his legislative work with the Missouri Medical Association; the Missouri Emergency Medical Services Association Award; the Missouri Fire Service Alliance; the Missouri Rural Water Association; the Missouri Municipal League; Missouri Association of Counties; Missouri Ambulance Association; Missouri Association of Community Colleges; St. Louis RGA; University of Missouri Extension Leaders Honor Roll and East Central College Outstanding Alumni Award.

    Born on July 19, 1952, in St. Clair, Sen. Griesheimer is a 1970 graduate of St. Clair High School. He graduated from East Central College in Union.

    He lives in Washington with his wife Rita, and their three children, Sean, Aaron and Michelle.

    Sen. Griesheimer is active in a number of civic organizations including the Washington Lions Club, the Fourth Degree Knights of Columbus, Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church, the Washington Elks BPO Lodge 1559, Franklin County Republican Central Committee, and a member of the Auto Mechanics Advisory Board for the Four Rivers Vocational Technical School in Washington.

    Return to Senator's Main Page