Missouri State Senate
Biography for Senator Graham

Senator Chuck Graham is in his first term as the state senator from the 19th District, which includes Boone and Randolph counties. Prior to his service in the Senate, he served four terms in the Missouri House of Representatives as the representative from the 24th district.

Prior to being elected to the House, Senator Graham worked as the Missouri Coordinator for the ADA Project at the University of Missouri-Columbia. He was responsible for providing training and technical assistance to business, state and local governments and people with disabilities across the state.

Senator Graham is a 1987 graduate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he earned his bachelor of science degree in journalism. While at the U. of I., he received the Harold Scharper Service Award and the George Huff Award for proficiency in scholarship and athletics. He was also a member of Delta Sigma Omicron, the organization for disabled students, Delta Sigma Phi fraternity and Ma-Wan-Da Honorary Society.

Within his community, he belongs to the Columbia Elks #594, Muleskinners, Boone County Democratic Central Committee, and serves on the steering committee for the University of Missouri College of Human Environmental Sciences' "For All We Call" fundraising campaign.

In 1990, he was recognized by the U.S. Congressional Task Force on the Rights and Empowerment of Americans with Disabilities for his leadership in passing the ADA Act. The Missouri Jaycees named him one of the Ten Outstanding Young Missourians in 1996. In 1997, the National Rehabilitation Association bestowed upon him the E.B. Whitten Silver Medallion and the Governor's Council on Disability gave him the "Breaking the Barriers" Award. In 1997,1998, 2001 and 2002, Senator Graham was honored as the Elected Official of the Year by Services for Independent Living. In 1998 he was honored, along with actor Christopher Reeve, by Gateway to a Cure for the work he has done to improve opportunities for people with disabilities. He received the Norma Robb Award-Outstanding Young Democrat of Boone County in 1999. The University of Missouri presented its Human Rights & Diversity Award to Senator Graham in March 2000. He was named Legislator of the Year by Disabled Citizens Alliance for Independence in December 2000 and 2001. In 1998, he received the A+ Award from the National Education Association. Senator Graham was honored with the Barrier Freedom Award from SEMO Alliance for Independence in 2000. He received the Distinguished Legislator Award in 2001 from the Missouri Community College Association, and the 2001 Legislative Award from the Missouri Association for Career and Technical Education. The MU Alumni Association presented Senator Graham with the Tigerís Roar Award in 2002 and the Henry Geyer Award (the highest honor the association can give to a public official) in 2005. In 2002, he was honored with the Distinguished Service Award from the Human Environmental Sciences Alumni Organization. The Missouri Easter Seals honored him in 1995, with its Disability Leadership Award in 1995 and its Advocate of the Year Award in 2006, and in November, 2002, the national Easter Seals organization presented him with the Outstanding Advocate Award at its national convention.

Senator Graham is a nationally renowned public speaker, who travels throughout the state and nation, motivating people to get involved in their communities.

Return to Senator's Main Page