Missouri State Senate


SB 149 - This act alters provisions regarding higher education scholarships.

SECTION 160.545: Currently, only public community colleges and public vocational or technical schools are statutorily authorized to receive A+ reimbursements. This act seeks to additionally allow any private vocational or private technical school to receive A+ reimbursements, provided that the institution: is a member of the north central association and accredited by the higher learning commission; is designated as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization; and does not receive tuition reimbursements in excess of the tuition rate charged by a public community college for course work offered by the private vocational or technical school within the service area of that community college. Further, the reimbursements provided to any two-year private vocational or technical school shall not violate the provisions of article IX, section 8, or article I, section 7, of the Missouri Constitution or the first amendment of the United States Constitution.

SECTION 173.272: This act establishes the “Community College Associate Degree Transfer Incentive Scholarship Program” to be administered by the coordinating board for higher education. The program will distribute funds to participating public four-year Missouri colleges or universities and participating private four-year Missouri non-profit, non-religious, colleges or universities in order to provide scholarships for Missouri residents who graduate from a Missouri public community college and transfer to such four-year Missouri institutions. Funds for the scholarship program will be distributed to participating institutions on a pro-rata basis according to the number of eligible two-year transfer students at each institution. Eligibility criteria are delineated in the act. Participating institutions are required to submit an annual report to the general assembly.

The act establishes the “Community College Associate Degree Transfer Incentive Scholarship Program” fund in the state treasury.

The program will sunset in six years.

This act contains provisions similar to the SB 654 (2006) and SB 091 (2005).