SB 160
Alters provisions regarding higher education scholarships
LR Number:
Last Action:
5/18/2007 - S Informal Calendar S Bills for Perfection
Journal Page:
SCS SB 160
Calendar Position:
Effective Date:
August 28, 2007

Current Bill Summary

SCS/SB 160 - This act alters provisions regarding higher education scholarships.

SECTION 160.545: Currently, only public community colleges and public vocational or technical schools are statutorily authorized to receive A+ reimbursements. This act seeks to additionally allow any private vocational or private technical school to receive A+ reimbursements, provided that the institution: is a member of the north central association and accredited by the higher learning commission; is designated as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization; and does not receive tuition reimbursements in excess of the tuition rate charged by a public community college for course work offered by the private vocational or technical school within the service area of that community college. Further, the reimbursements provided to any two-year private vocational or technical school shall not violate the provisions of article IX, section 8, or article I, section 7, of the Missouri Constitution or the first amendment of the United States Constitution.

SECTION 173.272: This act establishes the “Community College Associate Degree Transfer Incentive Scholarship Program” to be administered by the coordinating board for higher education. The program will distribute funds as scholarships to eligible students to attend participating public or private four-year Missouri colleges or universities who have graduated from a Missouri public community college and transferred to such four-year Missouri institutions. Eligibility criteria are delineated in the act. The coordinating board is required to submit an annual report to the general assembly.

The act establishes the “Community College Associate Degree Transfer Incentive Scholarship Program” fund in the state treasury.

The program will sunset in six years.

This act contains provisions similar to the SB 654 (2006) and SB 91 (2005).