SECOND REGULAR SESSION

[P E R F E C T E D]

SENATE SUBSTITUTE FOR

SENATE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR

SENATE BILLS NOS. 714 & 761

92ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR KINDER.

Offered January 28, 2004.

Senate Substitute adopted, February 3, 2004.

Taken up for Perfection February 3, 2004. Bill declared Perfected and Ordered Printed, as amended.

3171S 06P

TERRY L. SPIELER, Secretary.

AN ACT

To repeal sections 174.020 and 174.450, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof three new sections relating to names of state colleges.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Sections 174.020 and 174.450, RSMo, are repealed and three new sections enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as sections 174.020, 174.450, and 1, to read as follows:

174.020. 1. State institutions of higher education governed by sections 174.020 to 174.500 shall be named and known as follows: the institution at Warrensburg, Johnson County, shall hereafter be known as the "[Central Missouri State] University of Central Missouri"; the institution at Cape Girardeau County, shall hereafter be known as the "Southeast Missouri State University"; the institution at Springfield, Greene County, shall hereafter be known as the "[Southwest] Missouri State University"; the institution at Maryville, Nodaway County, shall hereafter be known as the "Northwest Missouri State University"; the college at St. Joseph, Buchanan County, shall hereafter be known as the "Missouri Western State College"; the institution at Joplin, Jasper County, shall hereafter be known as the "Missouri Southern State University-Joplin"; and the college in the city of St. Louis shall

EXPLANATION—Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in this bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted in the law.

be known as "Harris-Stowe State College".

- 2. References in the statutes in this state to such institutions whether denominated colleges or universities in such statutes or whether said institutions are renamed in subsection 1 of this section shall continue to apply to the applicable institution.
- 3. Any costs incurred with respect to modifications of the names of the state colleges and universities specified in subsection 1 of this section shall not be paid from state funds, and such a name change will not authorize establishment of new degree programs by procedures other than as established by statute, including approval by the coordinating board for higher education.
- 4. When the conditions set forth in section 178.631, RSMo, are met, the technical college located in Osage County, commonly known as the East Campus of Linn Technical College, shall be known as "Linn State Technical College".
- 174.450. 1. Except as provided in subsection 2 of this section the governing board of [Central Missouri State] University of Central Missouri, [Southwest] Missouri State University, Missouri Southern State University-Joplin, and of each other public institution of higher education which, through the procedures established in subdivision (7) or (8) of section 173.030, RSMo, is charged with a statewide mission shall be a board of governors consisting of eight members, composed of seven voting members and one nonvoting member as provided in sections 174.453 and 174.455, who shall be appointed by the governor of Missouri, by and with the advice and consent of the senate. No person shall be appointed a voting member who is not a citizen of the United States and who has not been a resident of the state of Missouri for at least two years immediately prior to such appointment. Not more than four voting members shall belong to any one political party. The appointed members of the board of regents serving on the date of the statutory mission change shall become members of the board of governors on the effective date of the statutory mission change and serve until the expiration of the terms for which they were appointed. The board of regents of any such institution shall be abolished on the effective date of the statutory mission change, as prescribed in subdivision (7) or (8) of section 173.030, RSMo.
- 2. The governing board of Missouri State University, a public institution of higher education charged with a statewide mission in public affairs, shall be a board of governors of ten members, composed

of nine voting members and one nonvoting member, who shall be appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the senate. The nonvoting member shall be a student selected in the same manner as prescribed in section 174.055. No more than one voting member shall be appointed to the board from the same congressional district, and every member of the board shall be a citizen of the United States, and a resident of this state for at least two years prior to his or her appointment. No more than five voting members shall belong to any one political party.

Section 1. Missouri State University shall not duplicate the research and land grant missions of the University of Missouri, and shall offer only cooperative engineering programs and cooperative researchbased doctoral programs in cooperation with the University of Missouri; provided that such cooperative agreements are approved by the governing boards of each institution and that in these instances the University of Missouri shall be the degree-granting institution. Missouri State University may consider the delivery of professional doctoral programs that do not duplicate current offerings at the University of Missouri or that are necessary for the continued certification of existing programs at Missouri State University, subject to the approval of the Coordinating Board for Higher Education or any higher education governance authority that may replace it. Nor will Missouri State University, absent the approval and a determination of statewide need by the Coordinating Board for Higher Education or any higher education governance authority that may replace it, duplicate the existing first professional programs at the University of Missouri that train medical doctors, pharmacists, dentists, veterinarians, optometrists, lawyers, and architects.