SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 26

Relating to the Agroforestry Industrialization Committee.

WHEREAS, the agroforestry industry is a vital industry to Missouri, representing over fourteen million acres of Missouri timberland, which ranks our state seventh out of the twenty northeastern timber states, supports the bulk of Missouri recreation and tourism, directly provides thousands of jobs and supports tens of thousands of jobs where forest land and products are a vital component, directly generates three billion dollars of revenue, and indirectly supports the generation of many more billions of dollars in revenue; and

WHEREAS, the General Assembly wishes to maintain and enhance the positive economic contribution of this industry while making every attempt to minimize environmental harm and other negative aspects of the industry; and

WHEREAS, the industries' current practice of harvesting sixty percent of the tree, and its predominant production of low value-added products, limits the potential economic contribution to industry participants and to the state; and

WHEREAS, there exists a need for a study of the potential for increased industrial strength and rural economic gains to be realized by agroforestry adopting modern industrial business models and value-added techniques:

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the Missouri Senate, Ninety-Second General Assembly, Second Regular Session, the House of Representatives concurring therein, hereby authorize the creation of an "Agroforestry Industrialization Committee", which shall review and evaluate both the industrial and economic impact of agroforestry industrialization and environmental responsibilities of this industry and make recommendations on further action or legislative remedies, if any, to be taken as necessary; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that such committee shall be composed of thirty members, one member to be a member of the Missouri Senate to be appointed by the President Pro Tem of the Senate, one member to be a member of the Missouri House of Representatives to be appointed by the Speaker of the House, two county commissioners or their designees to be appointed by the Missouri Association of Counties, two landowners representing small forestry holdings with owners of less than two hundred acres of timber to be appointed by the Missouri Farm Bureau, a representative from the Resource Conservation and Development Councils, a representative from the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, a representative from the Department of Natural Resources' Division of Energy, a representative from the Missouri Department of Agriculture, a representative from the Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, a representative from the Missouri Division of Tourism, a representative from the Missouri Enterprise Business Assistance Center, a representative of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), a representative of the United States Department of Agriculture Forest Service, a representative of the United States Department of Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources, a representative of the University of Missouri Commercial Agriculture Program, a representative of the Society of American Foresters, a representative from the Missouri Forest Products Association, a representative of a large-volume active sawmill and a representative of a smallvolume active sawmill appointed by the Missouri Department of Conservation, a representative of two active flooring mills appointed by the Missouri Forest Products Association, a person active in the purchase and processing value-added portion of forest products appointed by the Missouri Forest Products Association, a representative from Southeast Missouri State University, and a representative from Southwest Missouri State University. Each member of the committee shall serve until December 31, 2005. A chairman, vice-chairman, and secretary shall be elected by the membership of the committee to conduct the business of the committee; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the committee may conduct its business by various means but shall meet no less than twice each year as a full committee; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that all state agencies shall cooperate with the committee in carrying out its duties, including allowing access to closed records, provided that the committee shall not disclose any identifying information contained in such records closed pursuant to statute or general order, and any such information in the custody of the committee shall not be discoverable to the same extent as when in the custody of the parent agency; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that all members shall serve without compensation; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Office of Administration shall provide minimal funding, administrative support, and staff for the effective operation of the committee; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the committee shall study problems and solutions, collect information, and provide recommendations in a report to the General Assembly before July 30, 2005; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the committee shall submit its final report to the General Assembly no later than December 31, 2005; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Agroforestry Industrialization Committee shall terminate December 31, 2005; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Missouri Senate be instructed to prepare properly inscribed copies of this resolution for the Governor for his approval or rejection pursuant to the Missouri Constitution.

