Missouri State Senate
Biography for Senator Klindt

Senator David Klindt, a Republican, represents Atchison, Andrew, Caldwell, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Sullivan, and Worth County (District 12) in the Missouri Senate.

Senator David Klindt was elected to his first term in the legislature as Representative of the 3rd District in a special election in 1997. He was re-elected in 1998 and 2000. In January 2001, he was elected to the Missouri Senate. He was elected to serve as Majority Whip in 2003 by the Republican Caucus. He serves on the following committees: Chairman, Agriculture, Conservation, Parks and Natural Resources; Commerce and Environment; Small Business, Insurance and Industrial Relations; Pensions and General Laws; Missouri Court Automation; and, Senate Administration. Chairman Congressional Redistricting (2001); Chairman, Joint Committee on Corrections Oversight; Co-Chairman Joint Committee on Tobacco Securitization; Co-Chairman, Interim Committee on Agriculture and Improving the Rural Economy (2001.)

In addition to his legislative duties, Senator Klindt is also a farmer and rancher. Formerly, he worked as an insurance agent for Missouri Farm Bureau and as a computer software consultant. He has worked in the cattle industry nationwide.

Senator Klindt is a member of the First Baptist Church. He is a member of the National Red Angus Association, former Board member; Missouri Farm Bureau, and the National Rifle Association. Awards: Distinguished Service Award, Red Angus Association; Personality of the Year Award; Meritorious and Dedicated Service Award. Friends of Agriculture Award 1998, 2000, Missouri Farm Bureau; Distinguished Legislative Award 2000; Missouri Community College Association; Grassland Farmer Award, 2001, Harrison County Soil and Water Conservation District; Legislative Award 2001, Soil and Water Conservation Society. Recognized for his contributions to the Justice System by the Missouri Supreme Court and the Missouri Bar Association.

Return to Senate Home Page