Senator John T. Russell
District 33

JOHN T. RUSSELL: (Republican), State Senator, elected in November 1976, born September 22, 1931 in Lebanon, Missouri. Grew up on a farm near the Gasconade River. Educated in a one room county school, Lebanon High School and Drury College, Springfield, Missouri. Married and has three children.

He was honored by Southwest Baptist University in 1979 with an Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree. He has received the Spirit of Enterprise Award from the Missouri Chamber of Commerce, the Guardian of Small Business Award from the National Federation of Independent Business, the Voice of Missouri Business Award from the Associated Industries, the 1997 Community Service Award from the Lebanon Area Chamber of Commerce and awards from the Missouri Farm Bureau including the Outstanding Service Award to Agriculture.

Most of his adult life, he has been associated with several business endeavors, including Detroit Tool Companies where he served as a corporate officer, active in day to day management until 1990.

He is a member of the First Baptist Church, Lebanon, Veteran of Air Force, Korean War.

Senator Russell served as Minority Floor Leader in the Missouri House of Representatives in 1971 and 1972.

Elected to the Missouri Senate in 1976 serving twelve counties in south central and southwest Missouri. Re-elected in 1980, 1984, 1988. Elected in 1992 to the 33rd Senatorial District which includes the counties of Camden, Dallas, Laclede, Pulaski, Webster and Wright and re-elected in 2000 by a margin of 62 percent. Effective January 2003, the new 33rd Senatorial District will include the counties of Camden, Howell, Laclede, Oregon, Shannon, Texas and Wright which Senator Russell will be eligible to serve until the end of 2004.

Now serving as Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee, member of the Gubernatorial Appointments Committee and member of the Transportation Committee.

He was appointed to the Missouri State Employees Retirement System Board of Trustees in December 1990 and was re-appointed to this Board in 2001.

Address:Lebanon, MO
417-532-6050 (Office)

Jefferson City Address: Senate Post Office
State Capitol Building
Jefferson City, MO 65101
573-751-4166 (Office)
573-751-2745 (Fax)