SB 0030 Creates the Amber Alert System
Sponsor:Gross Co-Sponsor(s)
LR Number:0038L.13T Fiscal Note:0038-13
Committee:Pensions and General Laws
Last Action:07/11/03 - Signed by Governor Journal page:
Title:HCS SS SCS SB 30
Effective Date:August 28, 2003
Full Bill Text | All Actions | Available Summaries | Senate Home Page | List of 2003 Senate Bills
Current Bill Summary

HCS/SS/SCS/SB 30 - This act creates the Amber Alert System. The Department of Public Safety (DPS) shall develop a system whereby the state will be divided into regions who shall provide a coordinated effort between local law enforcement agencies and local media within the region to aid in the identification and location of abducted persons. If a local entity does not have an alert system in place, Department of Public Safety will notify local media in their region, who by prearranged plan will issue an alert.

The Amber Alert System shall include all state agencies capable of providing information to the public which at a minimum shall include the Department of Public Safety, Highway Patrol, Department of Transportation, Department of Health and Senior Services, and Missouri Lottery.

The Department of Public Safety will have authority to notify other regions upon the verification that the criteria established by the Amber Alert System Oversight Committee has been met. Participation in a Amber Alert System is entirely at the option of the local law enforcement agency and media.

Any person who knowingly makes a false report that triggers an alert is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

The act establishes an Oversight Committee who will be responsible for the development of criteria and procedures for the Amber Alert System. The Oversight Committee will be housed in the Department of Public Safety.

The Amber Alert System Oversight Committee will consist of ten members and will be chaired by the Director of Public Safety. Seven members will be appointed by the Governor with advice and consent of the Senate and will serve staggered four year terms. The Oversight Committee will also include a representative of the Highway Patrol and a representative of the Department of Health and Senior Services. The seven members appointed by the Governor shall include the following representatives: two from the Missouri Sheriff's Association; two from the Missouri Police Chief's Association; one large market radio broadcaster; one small market radio broadcaster; one television broadcaster; and one representative from each Alert Missouri region. Members shall not be compensated except for actual and necessary expenses.

This act is similar to SCS/HCS/HB 185 (2003).